The Princess Bride

Princess Bride – William Goldman

tumblr_lgxsde5d0c1qa0nq8

My name is Inigo Montoya – you killed my father prepare to die.

The princess bride is one of my all time favourite films, even though I didn’t know it was based on a book. So the moment I saw this staring at me on a shelf in Waterstones I knew I had to buy it. As it turned out it was one of the best decisions I’d ever made having read it four times in the week I bought it. I guess you could say I’m cheating with this one, when I read it last week it wasn’t something that was new to me but I do have an excuse! I’d had another job rejection and needed a pick me up but I was on my way to work so I couldn’t stick on a funny children’s film.  So I grabbed this off the bookshelf, went to work and read between customers. I was skipping around the shop in no time.
So lets tell you a bit about this book then. If you’ve seen the film you’ll be familiar with the story. If not you’re in for a bit of a treat.

So the book starts off being a personal account from our author rediscovering and attempting to abridge his favourite childhood book – The Princess Bride a satirical take on Florinise history by S Morganstern.
What you get this is an epic fairytale adventure interspersed with Goldman talking about cur sections, favourite characters and how he felt as a feverish 8 year old being read this book for the first time. It sounds like this could be distracting or a bit Inception like (a story within a story) but its not, its so clever and its like the author is discovering the story with you instead of dictating it to you.
The actual adventure part is the story of Buttercup who falls in love with farm hand Westley only to have him cruelly snatched away as his ship is attacked by the Dread Pirate Roberts who never leaves survivors.
Heart broken, Buttercup agrees to marry Prince Humperdink, a ruthless hunter in need of an heir. But she is soon kidnapped by a sneaky Scilian, a Spaniard on the hunt for a six fingered man and a giant who likes rhyming. Then as if that weren’t enough, the kidnappers are being pursued by a mysterious man in black…

If you’ve seen the film you will not be disappointed, the book is just as funny, exciting and well… Awesome as the film. Its got all the lines, its got all the adventure and its got excerpts from the author making the same comments your brain is bombarding you with through out.

A possibility that you won’t like it?
Inconceivable!

You can see the other books I’ve read so far on my tumblr: here

Leave a Reply

