Mockingjay

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Suzanne Collins.

tumblr_li0abjjQpL1qa0nq8
The Hunger Games really made me fall in love with reading again. When I started this challenge it was because I wanted to go back to being well read but also because I wanted the kudos of being able to say I’d read something. This series has made me reorder my priorities, I’m not reading to point score any more I’m reading because I love stories and I love reading.

Mockingjay was both a great way of ending the trilogy and an awful way. It was very final and I love that there wasn’t a happy ending. It made the whole thing much more realistic that everyone’s lives weren’t suddenly transformed into a brilliant time, no one was rich, or complete or at one with themselves.
There were moments when I had to stop reading and get as far away as possible just to clear my thoughts its as horrific and engaging as the first two instalments, in some parts even more so.
There was one moment where I was shaking so much I couldn’t even finish the page – times when Katniss changed into the very thing she was fighting, when the fates of certain characters were revealed and the turn out of the Gale-Katniss-Peeta love triangle was a bit of a shock as well. Purely because I always thought she’d out right chose one or lose both, I never even considered the actual outcome which just shows the strength of the writing I guess. But at the same time it wasn’t, there were moments when Katniss seemed to change her character and her beliefs randomly, which I thought was a bit of a letdown.  I wouldn’t say it ruined the trilogy or anything like that but it wasn’t as strong as the other two.

I cannot recommend the Hunger Games trilogy enough its so powerful and all consuming even after I’d finished my mind was whirling with the possibilities of what happened I finished it two days ago and have only just been arrange my thoughts and get it out of my system to even write about it.

If you haven’t read it yet you need to and if you have you need to read it again and again. Amazing from the first word to the last.

You can see what I thought of the other two here and here and what other books I have read so far by heading to my tumblr which is here.

Leave a Reply

