Thanks for the memories

Thanks for the Memories – Cecelia Ahern.

tumblr_lmn5cnYcPQ1qa0nq8

I just really really enjoyed this. I know I read the book of tomorrow recently and I didn’t get on with it very well at all, but this was like the Cecelia Ahern I know and love, much more like PS I love You or Where Rainbows End (which are both awesome by the way.)
It was genuinely funny, charming, moving… everything I expected it to be and more. I found myself laughing and sighing out loud with practically every chapter – quite glad there was no sobbing, I think laughing in public is much more acceptable.

The best way I can describe this is that its like a grown ups fairy tale. Its the story of Joyce who suffers some pretty awful times and ends up having to have a blood transfusion. The blood comes from Justin who’s life is just as much of a mess as Joyce’s. After she comes round from the opperation, Joyce starts remembering things that never happened to her, liking foods she’s never liked before and having knowledge of things she didnt before. That and bizarre twists of events keep leading her and Justin back to each other.
There is enough fact, enough magic and enough interesting characters to keep me amused. I just properly loved it.

Cecelia Ahern is just a fantastic story teller and this didn’t disappoint.

Also because I’m a nerd I copied out this whole passage about time which I’ll probably post at some point too…

Leave a Reply

