Wuthering Heights

Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte

tumblr_lohwhaxTe81qa0nq8

Amazon has recommended me this ever since I first bought a book from them and I’ve always ignored them, not because I didn’t want to read it but because I didn’t see the point. Everyone knows the story right? Kate Bush pretty much summed it up for us in her song, conveniently also named Wuthering Heights.  But you know, after reading Emma I thought I should probably give it a go because I wasn’t really very complimentary of that and on dear old Blainers it was free so I had nothing to lose really.

It wasn’t anything like I expected, I thought it would be a bit like Pride and Prejudice, but a little more dramatic, Cathy and Heathcliff mooning over each other and flirting whilst being angst ridden but it wasn’t. It was other people telling their story and there was barely any flirting at all. In fact, I think they only even kissed once and that was right before it all went to the dogs.

I don’t know why this is so many peoples favourite book, I’m not saying I didn’t enjoy it, I just found it a little pointless in the sense that nothing much happens. I also have no idea what the attraction was between Cathy and Heathcliff. Yeah, they were mates as kids and hung around a lot but they were awful to each other. I don’t doubt that there was feeling there, this book had some epic quotes proving just that (“I cannot live without my life I cannot live without my soul” being one) but I just didn’t see it, they certainly didn’t make me want them to be together.

And I didn’t get why Heathcliff was so vindictive to everyone, I could understand his revenge on Hindley a little, but not Edgar, its not his fault Cathy chose him after all, or Isabella or Hearton. I thought they were both awful people and probably deserved each other but not, because that would have made them happy. Well… It probably wouldn’t actually.

Whatever, I hated all the characters. Heathcliff is a very cool name though. And I much preferred this over any of the other Bronte sister’s stuff that I’ve read, I know I said it was a little pointless but as far as the classics go, at least this didn’t spend four pages just describing a sandwich or something equally as mundane, when action happened it happened which I enjoyed. So four for you Emily coco, you go Emily coco.

Leave a Reply

