The Graveyard Book

The Graveyard Book – Neil Gaiman.

I’m not doing a 52 books a year challenge, but instead I think I’ll just write about books that really have an effect on me and the first one to do that this year has been this: The Graveyard book.
Now, I’m a great lover of Neil Gaiman, I enjoyed Coroline immensely and anyone who can come up with Stardust is a genius in my eyes. Plus, he writes for Doctor Who and is married to Amanda Palmer. The man is a legend.

Anyway, the book, so the Graveyard Book all starts off with a murder from which a baby escapes by getting out of his coat and crawling into a cemetery where he is then raised by the ghosts that live there. Over time he grows up and has to leave the cemetery but not before his attempted murderer has come back in an attempt to finish him off.

Like usual Neil Gaiman books, this is funny, fantastical and instantly transports you to another world and I would recommend it to anyone who would like that to happen.
The thing about it that really caught my attention was the fact that there is a whole sequence that is set in the caves under Wawel Castle in Krakow which is in fact where I spent my 23rd birthday.
I love it when that happens!

Leave a Reply

