The Land of Stories

Land of Stories – Chris Colfer.

Oh, I don’t even know where to start.
I was so excited about this book, I’m a huge fan of Chris Colfer’s, and I love fairy tales but this just took me forever to get into and I just didn’t think it flowed particularly well.
That’s not to say that it isn’t a good story, it is, it’s an amazingly original take on the fairy tale genre and it creates a whole new world and characteristics for all the old favourites to live in. It was very reminiscent of Wicked actually which as we all know is awesome on every single level. For me though, I just felt like the writing tone kept changing from being a kids book to a YA book and then back again and it made it very difficult to concentrate.
I really don’t think I was the target audience for this, and I think maybe it was pushed through to publication much too soon and maybe should have had a bit more editing to sort out the problem with the narrative flow.
That said I think it was a really good story and if I were eleven, I would have loved it.  I can’t wait to see what else Chris Colfer is going to come up with, I’ve heard that he’s planning a YA book and a sequel to this so we shall see!

Leave a Reply

