The 2012 Book Survey.

Here’s a survey I saw as posted by the librarian that doesn’t say shush, I’ve really enjoyed her blog this year and I thought this survey would be a great way to check out what I was reading this year, so I thought I’d give it a go. I’ve only done the beginning part of the survey, but the whole thing can be found on the aforementioned blog. So, here we go!

1. Best Book You Read In 2012? (You can break it down by genre if you want)
Probably The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. I read it on the plane on the way to New York and I was just like

ALLTHESEFEELS

I was an emotional wreck by the time I landed in JFK. I kind of love everything that John Green has written and I think the Fault in our stars has over taken Looking for Alaska as being my favourite book of his now.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?
Slaughter House 5 – Kurt Vonnegut. Everyone told me that I should read some Vonnegut and I was searching for it for ages, I finally managed to come across a copy in the library back in October and was super excited about reading it. Every review I read for Slaughter House 5 celebrated its genius and although I really enjoyed it and thought it was awesome, I think I built it up a bit too much. Though, it was nice to learn where half the references I find on Tumblr come from!
tumblr_maef2ozZMU1qa4ynho1_500

 3. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2012?
The Casual Vacancy – JK Rowling. I had absolutely no idea what this was going to be about, and the cover didn’t really indicate too much about the story. I read it and was surprised at how she managed to keep the same voice used in Harry Potter and the same style and yet apply it to such adult situations. I was like shock cat when I came across the C word in the first few chapters and then that condom quote. Just ermergerd.

 4. Book you recommended to people most in 2012?
House of Silk – Anthony Horrowitz. Billed as being the new Sherlock Holmes novel I was a little bit sceptical, because well… It’s Holmes isn’t it and it either needs to be perfect or it needs to be left alone. This was every single shade of awesome I could imagine. Horrowitz just captured Watson’s voice perfectly and it was very apropos with what was going on in the news around the time that I was reading it. Completely creepy but amazingly well done.

5. Best series you discovered in 2012?
The Mortal Instruments and Infernal Devices – Cassandra Clare. I know these have been around for ages, but I finally got hold of City of Bones this summer and quickly worked my way through all of them, although they’re not perfect and they are endlessly frustrating, I loved them a bit and keep handing them out to people to read so I can flail over Simon and Malec with people.

 6. Favorite new authors you discovered in 2012?
Veronica Roth. I read Divergent the other day, and I’m really excited about the rest of the series so I think I should award her with this one.

7. Best book that was out of your comfort zone or was a new genre for you?
I don’t think I read anything that out of my comfort zone… Clearly this is something I need to work on for next year… Unless A Glamorously Unglamorous Life – Julia Albain counts? That was sort of a memoir type book and I don’t read many of those but I quite enjoyed it.

 8. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2012?
The Book Thief – Markus Zusak. I don’t know if thrilling is the right adjective, but it was a book I felt that I couldn’t physically let out of my sight in case the story ran away and I’d never find out what’s going on.

 9. Book You Read In 2012 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year:
The Fault in our stars… Or the Mortal Instruments series because I enjoyed them so much they’ll probably end up being read over and over. I want to re read The Cloud Atlas because I didn’t like it and I think that was because I wasn’t in the right frame of mind so I would like to give it another go.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2012?
Funnily enough, I really loved the cover of The Land of Stories: The Wishing Spell by Chris Colfer even though I didn’t think that much of the book I did really love the cover. I really liked the cover of the Night Circus too.

night-circus-cover   the_land_of_stories_the_wishing_spell_cover

Annoyingly, there are several variations of The Night Circus cover and all of them are ridiculously beautiful. The above is the cover I have, but I also enjoy the inverted cover and the circus tent cover.

11. Most memorable character in 2012?
Augustus Waters (I will stop mentioning the fault in our stars at some point, I promise.) I fancied him a bit.

12. Most beautifully written book read in 2012?
Warm Bodies – Isaac Marion. I really loved the way this was worded, I loved the little quotes and all of that. I also really loved The Lover’s Dictionary – David Levithan because I didn’t think it was possible to create something so beautiful from nothing but words and their definitions.

13. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2012?
The Book Thief, I read it in the summer and the amount I was reading soared after I finished it, it got me out of a rut of bad books and back into decent literature.

14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2012 to finally read?
The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath. I feel like I was majorly late to that party.

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2012?
“Sometimes you read a book and it fills you with such evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.” – The Fault in Our Stars

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2012?
Shortest was The Old Man and the Sea – Ernest Hemingway. I don’t know what the longest was… Tipping the Velvet was quite long, Divergent was like a brick…

 17. Book That Had A Scene In It That Had You Reeling And Dying To Talk To Somebody About It? (a WTF moment, an epic revelation, a steamy kiss, etc. etc.) Be careful of spoilers!
The Fault in Our Stars, pretty much the whole second half of the book had me wanting to just sob onto someone’s shoulder.Much like this:

cries

Annie on my Mind – Nancy Garden had lots of awwww moments that I wanted to talk to everyone about and probably also The Casual Vacancy because I was a bit like WTF?!?! The whole way through that.

18. Favorite Relationship From A Book You Read In 2012 (be it romantic, friendship, etc).
I liked the relationship between Tris and Four in Divergent. I liked the relationship between Dylan and Riley in Everything Beautiful – Simmone Howell too.

19. Favorite Book You Read in 2012 From An Author You Read Previously
I really loved Bermudez Triangle by Maureen Johnson. I’ve read a couple of her books now but I particularly loved that one.

20. Best Book You Read That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else:
I think this has to go to The Night Circus – Erin Morgernstern. I was recommended it by a couple of different people, but then I saw a video on YouTube doing book recs and this was mentioned again so I had to pick it up.

 

4 thoughts on “The 2012 Book Survey.

  1. Your praise for Bermudez Triangle makes me want to give it another go. I started it many years ago…back when I was a notorious 1/2 finisher of books…and never finished.

    And if you talk about the Awww moments in Annie on My Mind, I’ll listen! It’s been a few years, but I did finish that one and I did love it!

    • Well… I think my love of Bermudez Triangle comes largely from the fact that I imagined Mel to look just like Emma Stone and I have a major crush on her so I think that swung it in my favour a bit more! I really did love Annie on my mind, I thought the writing was a little dated but it was so cute that I worked through it!

      • Ughhh, I have a huge ole crush on Emma Stone, too. What inspired this picturing of Emma Stone as Mel? Just the way your brain works or was there a character description? Either way, that will be permanently stuck in my brain when I read that book!

      • Well… Thinking about it now, Karen Gillan would have probably been more appropriate! The first description of Mel is that she is petite and pale with freckles and long red hair. For some reason my first thought when I read that was Emma Stone… Karen Gillan might have been a better choice. I think my brain just automatically reverts to Emma Stone!

Leave a Reply

