Deceptively Pretty Book Covers.

I have a confession to make.
I judge books by their cover.
Not all books, most of them I buy/ borrow based on other people’s recommendations and goodreads reviews but if I’m walking past a waterstones and happen to pop in, it’s always the pretty covers that catch my eye and I always find that the prettiest covers always end up being the most disappointing books.

I mean, look at these!
jane-eyre-covers

I know, it’s a classic. But Jane Eyre is my least favourite book ever. The covers always look amazing, especially number two. I don’t know what it is about Jane Eyre that I don’t gel with, it’s just every time I try to pick it up and get stuck in, I just find my eyes glazing over and get filled with this intense need to sleep. Maybe one day I’ll get over whatever it is that stops me enjoying this book. The worst thing is that I always seem to be the only person who hates it. Everyone else seems to love it… I don’t know why!

n25

I was too young to get the whole Dollenganger thing the first time around. I’m quite glad really. I don’t understand how this happened. I don’t even know how to start with this… It was discussed as part of a panel at Leaky Con on bad books and why we like them, so I thought I should give it a go. Well… I don’t think I have ever been more glad that I didn’t pay for a book in my life. If I ever have to read the phrase “oh golly lolly” one more time I might have to indecently assault someone.wutheringheights

Wuthering Heights. I have Jane Eyre syndrome with this book. I hate it but I love the pretty covers that it has. Although, I also dislike the fact that some of the newer covers advertise it as being Edward and Bella’s favourite book. I think this one might be my favourite cover though, mostly because the image of Cathy looks so ghostly and weird.

Wuthering Heights cover 2

tumblr_lpvxfsH4gP1qa0nq8

Submarine. The cover looks so awesome. The book is no where near as good as the film. Book Oliver was just really pompous and I kind of wanted to hit him the entire time that I was reading it. The book cover gave him much more of a personality than the actual characterisations did.

Matched

The Matched series. All of them have such lovely covers, that Cassia is in a ball and then breaking out in the second one but, well, we all know what I thought of those…

And despite this, despite the fact that I constantly find myself buying/hiring/borrowing books all down to the fact that I really like the cover and then don’t end up enjoying the book itself I’m doing it all over again!

I just added this:

10798416

To my amazon wishlist.
Someone please tell me that the awesome cover matches up to the story!?

I think I need to refer back to this post every time I see a pretty book in a shop and remind myself that pretty books, like pretty people aren’t always the best thing to have around.

18 thoughts on “Deceptively Pretty Book Covers.

  1. I love all these covers. And I love Jane Eyre and Wuthering heights. However, I know what it feels like not to like a classic. I have the same problem with East of Eden. I can’t seem to get after the first 100 pages…

    • I LOVE the Wuthering Heights covers! I hate that a lot of them have “Edward and Bella’s favourite book” written on them though!!
      Its not that I hate classics, there are loads that I really like, for some reason though I just can’t get through either of those two.
      I’ve not read East of Eden, I might give it a try just to see what it’s like though!

  2. I loved Jane Eyre, so I also love that the covers are lovely 🙂 I’m planning to read Wuthering Heights this year, so I’ll let you know how that goes…

    As for the Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight… I only thought it was okay. One of those books that I’m glad I read, but that I probably won’t read again. Honestly, I can’t even really remember what it’s about!

    • Well that’s not good!
      I don’t know what it is about Jane Eyre or Wuthering Heights but I just can’t get into them. Everyone tells me how good they are. Maybe I’ll try the audio books instead!

    • Thanks!
      I try not to, I find I’m often drawn to pretty covers, I generally do base most of my decision on the blurb and other people’s opinions! But yeah, I’m like a magpie, drawn to things that are pretty!

  3. Pingback: Speechless. – The Perks of Being a Bookworm

  4. Finally someone else who hates Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights! I thought I’d never find anyone 😉 They were such a disappointment after all the hype everyone spreads. But admittedly, those covers are super pretty!

Leave a Reply

