Mrs Dalloway

Mrs._Dalloway_cover

 

Mrs Dalloway – Virginia Woolf.

The first book finished in February. Woo.
This is my first example of Woolf’s work, I’ll be honest, this reminded me a lot of The Great Gatsby in the sense that it was beautifully written but nothing happened. That isn’t to say that I didn’t enjoy it, I really did,

It has quite a peculiar narration, it’s almost poetic it took me a little while to get used to it but once I found a rhythm I found I couldn’t actually stop in case I disrupted my flow.

Anyway, here’s the blurb from Goodreads:
Heralded as Virginia Woolf’s greatest novel, this is a vivid portrait of a single day in a woman’s life. When we meet her, Mrs. Clarissa Dalloway is preoccupied with the last-minute details of party preparation while in her mind she is something much more than a perfect society hostess. As she readies her house, she is flooded with remembrances of faraway times. And, met with the realities of the present, Clarissa reexamines the choices that brought her there, hesitantly looking ahead to the unfamiliar work of growing old.

Basically, this is the story of one woman trying to plan a party and how her day, and the days of her various guests are going up to the party. It’s almost like a stream of consciousness from one character to the next. I kind of loved it a bit, it’s very different from anything else I’ve read, it’s character rather than plot driven and the prose was quite beautiful, like I said, to me it came across as being more of a poem than a novel.

Out of all the characters minds that we got to peek into, I think Septemus was my favourite, he was tragic and I think his story line was way ahead of it’s time. In a book full of deeply unlikeable, shallow characters he was one that really resonated with me.

This was a really great book to move around with, I didn;t want to sit and read, I wanted to run and read, I wanted to transverse London and skip through the Strand and dance through St James Park and march all the way around to Picadilly. The prose is always moving and Virginia Woolf writes about London the way I see it.
Oh look, I got through a whole review without a copious amount of gifs. That has to be some kind of record for me, so make it worth my while and check out Mrs Dalloway, it’s not got much substance, but it sure is pretty.

3 thoughts on “Mrs Dalloway

  1. Pingback: Things what I read (February) – The Perks of Being a Bookworm

  2. Pingback: End of the year book survey – The Perks of Being a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

