My Top 5 Fictional…

… Couples.

This whole top 5 thing is a feature I do sporadically when I get bored. Last time it was fictional characters that I’m in love with, this time we’re going to look at my top five fictional couples seeing as its valentines day and all.

#5  Arthur and Molly Weasley. (Harry Potter series – J K Rowling.)

harry-potter

There are an abundance of beautiful relationships in the Harry Potter series, James and Lily, Lupin and Tonks, Hermione and Ron… In fact, I’m one of those people that really likes the Harry and Ginny pairing, but the films ruined it for me, DanRad and Bonnie Wright have like zero chemistry and the films just made Ginny so irritating. Anyway, one couple that meant as much to me in the films as they did in the books were Molly and Arthur Weasley.  To me, Molly and Arthur are just the epitome of the dream family. Two people who fell in love at school, got married despite their parents misgivings, had several beautiful children, struggled financially but were wealthy in love and devotion to each other. A couple that practically helped raised their son’s best friend because he had no one else, a couple that were willing to sacrifice themselves to end Voldemort. I just think a lot can be learned from Molly and Arthur Weasley.

#4 Elizabeth Bennett and Fitzwilliam Darcy. (Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen)

6a00d83451584369e200e54f5a26ff8833-800wi

They had to appear somewhere didn’t they? They’re just the most flirty couple ever. I spent the whole time reading it just wishing I could do this: JUST KISS. I shipped Lizzy and Darcy before I knew what shipping was. 

#3  Magnus and Alec. (The Mortal Instruments series – Cassandra Clare)

the-mortal-instruments-covers
One’s a shadowhunter sworn to rid the world of demons, from a long line of shadowhunters, born into a family that don’t believe in homosexuality, he’s been in love with his bezzie mate Jace forever. Then he meets Magnus, high warlock of Brooklyn who takes an immediate shine to him and suddenly, he’s out of the closet and into a quite literally magic relationship. One of the many things that annoy me about TMI books (though not enough for me to stop reading them) is all the relationships, it just adds unnecessary drama and there are far too many love triangles in YA fiction as there is, but I am a big supporter of the MALEC relationship. And I am interested to see how they will continue in the last book.

#2 Tris and Four/Tobias. (Divergent – Veronica Roth)

Divergent_(book)_by_Veronica_Roth_US_Hardcover_2011
When I read Divergent I kinda loved the relationship between Tris and Tobias (or Four, whatever you want to call him.) I liked that Tris didn’t take any nonsense from him, I liked that her fear was intimacy and I loved, LOVED, the end of Divergent and their little conversation on the train. That was beyond adorable. I’ll be honest, I really didn’t think that much of their burgeoning relationship at the beginning of the book, I thought Tobias was kind of an asshat, and I didn’t want this strong and kick ass girl that Tris was portrayed as to fall for that kind of douchbaggery. But then, then Tobias turned out to be an adorable little snowflake who well liked her and I was like yaaaay!! I am so excited to read Insurgent and whatever the last one will be called.

#1 Hazel and Augustus. (The Fault in our Stars – John Green.)

The_Fault_in_Our_Stars
I’m a bit obsessed with The Fault in Our Stars, and I think it was the doomed, star crossed romance of Hazel and Augustus that enthralled me so much. I made no secret that I was head over heels in love with Augustus from his correct use of literally but I believed in his love for Hazel after their picnic when he told her about Amsterdam. When you have someone saying things like this:  “I’m in love with you, and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things. I’m in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we’re all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have, and I am in love with you.”

Like, God, Augustus, how am I supposed to go on knowing there are no actual real life people like you?

So these are my favourite fictional couples, Nick and Norah of Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist were also very close to the top. I was going to have them instead of Tris and Tobias, but then I remembered the bit on the train at the end of Divergent and changed my mind.  I also love Anna and Etienne of Anna and the French Kiss fame. I’m interested in what everyone else’s would be and why!

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Top 5 Fictional…

Leave a Reply

