Things what I read (February)

This is a thing I do now. A round up of all the things I read in a month, so here’s February.

Mrs._Dalloway_coverMrs Dalloway – Virgina Woolf
Well, technically, I started it in January but I finished it on the first. You can read my thoughts on it here but basically, it’s rather beautiful.
Am I allowed to say this one? It’s not cheating is it that I included this one in January’s list too?

12643928 Insurgent – Veronica Roth
I'm in a glass case of emotion

God, I ship Tris and Tobias so hard. I reviewed Divergent back last year but I didn’t have time to scribble down any thoughts on this one. Just know it’s frustrating, emotionally draining and reminded me of Serenity a bit. I need the trilogies end NOW.

6131164Clockwork Princess prologue – Cassandra Clare (I know this is cheating a bit)
I was just too gosh darn excited not to mention it. The Clockwork Princess prologue is available on the free Shadowhunter app on smart phones and with it and the Bane Chronicles releases coming soon it made me want to mention it.

3213286Let it Snow – John Green, Maureen Johnson, Lauren Myracle.
I know, this is a Christmas book but I’ve wanted to read it forever and the library finally had it. Out of the three I liked the John Green story the best, I think I’m going to have to buy this at some point because it’s perfect for those wintery nights when you just want to curl up under a blanket and read. Also it contains this line: “I forgot that Waffle Houses are like Lindsay Lohan’s legs: always open.”  So, that’s a thing.

maninhighThe Man in the High Castle – Philip K Dick.
My first experience with dick.
funny2
See what I thought here.

13628351All She Wants – Jonathan Harvey.
This might be cheating a bit as well. I managed a grand total of 160 pages before I had to stop on the grounds that I was dying of boredom. There are 14 positive reviews just on the cover but those people all lied. Because I was so bored, and that’s really saying something because I managed to at least finish the fifty shades trilogy. My face through out reading this:
emmastoneliproll

6317676Election – Tom Perrotta.
This was a really quick and easy book to get through but nothing really to write home about. It’s the perfect book for teachers and I’m planning to recommend my teacher friends to check it out.

16053586The Girl You Left Behind – Jojo Moyes.
Really rather enjoyable, I reviewed it here. If you don’t want to read that though, then just take my word for it. I did manage to do a whole review without once making mention of the dreaded “chicklit” which is possibly the most pointless genre ever. But anyway, do give this a go, it was the best of a bad bunch of library decisions.


17281240The Rosie Project – Graeme Simsion.
This was an ARC that I won through Goodreads. I reviewed it here,if you can’t be bothered to go clicking on that, just take my word for it that it’s well good. Although, you probably should read the review because I tried really hard not to mention Sheldon Cooper (mostly because I hate the Big Bang Theory.) many thanks to Penguin and Goodreads for the copy.

7972051One Hit Wonder – Lisa Jewell.
I picked this up at the library because it sounded scarily similar to something I’m writing myself. Thankfully, it doesn’t look like I’m going to get done for plagerism, and this was alright so winners all around.

6225119The Private Lives of Pippa Lee – Rebecca Miller.
From now on this is the book that will forever remind me of my first week as a proper journalist type due to me reading it during my lunch hour. I reviewed it here.

8755566 Being Human, Bad Blood – James Goss.
I’m a massive Being Human fan so when I saw two out of three of the books available at the library I had to get it. It’s fan fiction in book form?! Could this BE any more exciting?! This wasn’t brilliant to be honest, I’ve read better stuff on fanfiction.net but what can you do?  Now that the whole thing is sadly coming to an end, I’m hoping for a couple of books about Hal, Tom and Alex too, only you know, better written ones.

16071745Someday, Someday, Maybe – Lauren Graham.
This is a book by actual Lorelai Gilmore of Gilmore Girls fame. It’s an ARC very gratefully received through NetGalley, so there will be a proper review of this coming soon. I’ve still not finished it so no doubt it’ll appear on March’s list too.

This month I also started reading Les Miserables, but I have no idea when I am ever going to get around to finishing it.

Leave a Reply

