Wonder

wonder

Wonder – R J Palacio

ALLTHESEFEELS

Oh God. Right in the solar plexus.
I picked this up when it was on offer in Tesco because I liked the cover, when I mentioned it in my book haul, I got several comments telling me how wonderful it was so I vowed to read it as soon as possible, and seriously, oh my Gallifrey, it is incredible. In the immortal words of Bernard Black, it made me laugh, it made me cry, it changed my life.

The blurb on my copy simply says: My name is August. I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.
I know, it doesn’t tell you much, but it is everything that you need to know. Due to a genetic anomaly  ten year old August has a very unusual looking face which has caused him to have several hospital trips, be home schooled and to be used to being stared at and now, after years of being in a protected bubble, he’s about to start high school for the first time ever.

i cant even

I am lost for words with this.
It made me have emotions. It made me feel feelings. Lots of feelings. It’s told in several parts, each one from a different characters perspective so it’s like an over load of feels. You get August talking about how it’s his face, his life and how hard it is when people don’t accept you, the guilt of his sister, Via, who loves him but doesn’t want to have to tell people about him so that she can just get through school, his friend, Jack who has to chose between having lots of friends or having just the one. I was in a glass case of emotion pretty much for the entirety of this book. (I could use more gifs but I think you get the idea.)

I don’t really know what else to say, other than please, please, please read this. It’ll hurt. But in a good way.

photo

4 thoughts on “Wonder

  1. Pingback: In My Mailbox, part two – The Perks of Being a Bookworm

  2. Pingback: Things What I Read (March) – The Perks of Being a Bookworm

  3. Pingback: Twerp – The Perks of Being a Bookworm

  4. Pingback: End of the year book survey – The Perks of Being a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

