My Top 5 Fictional….

… Vampires.
I couldn’t think of five that I really liked without including one I wrote myself. Then I thought that was a bit big headed, so I had to add an extra one that is a bit too obvious just to fill it up, I’m kind of upset that I couldn’t include TV/ Film in here because you know that Spike (Buffy), Hal, Mitchell (Being Human) and David of the Lost Boys fame would all be in this list.
Anyway, this whole top 5 thing is a feature I do now and again just when I get bored.

#5 Dracula. (Dracula – Bram Stoker)

photo (5)

This is my obvious one. I actually enjoyed the book, the best bit had to be that my copy had a design your own cover, which is why it looks so peculiar.This was pretty much why I wanted to include Dracula instead of just leaving it at four. Anyway, this vampire was a creepy old man that could scale the walls of his tower and knows nothing about the housing market. Then he gets younger and creepier and starts lusting after young English ladies. I’m told that this is actually a great romance, I think it’s a bit horrific, are all vampires some kind of peculiar brand of stalker? I kind of want to go back to vampires that are actually deadly and eat people.

#4 Camille Belcourt (The Mortal Instruments/ The Infernal Devices – Cassandra Clare)

tumblr_m1ibrnrwKT1r8epaz

I don’t know what it is about Camille but I kinda like her. She’s exactly as I would expect a vampire to be, she has been alive for so long that she only looks out for number one. She doesn’t care about good and evil, she cares about what benefits her, plus, she isn’t one of these peculiar mountain lion eating vampires, she drinks blood, she is dangerous and powerful and beautiful, she travels about the world doing what she wants, when she wants. She is everything a modern day vampire should be.

#3 Lestat de Lioncourt (Interview with a vampire/ The Vampire Lestat – Anne Rice

interview-with-a-vampire
Apart from those regularly staked by Buffy and those cheeky chaps giving the Frog Brothers a hard time, Lestat and Louis were the first vampires I came across in actual fiction. I love the idea that a vampire would want to form and tour with a rock band, so many of them are all secretive and brooding, hiding away from the world and keeping themselves locked away, Lestat decides to take on the charts.

#2 Eric Northman (Sookie Stackhouse series – Charlaine Harris)

sookiestackhousebooks2 Eric is awesome. He’s a sheriff for starters. And then, once you get over that, he’s the only vampire in that entire series that actually talks sense. The others all like to spring around with their fancy language, Eric just tells you how it is. Plus, I kind of hate Bill with a passion so Eric is really the only other option in this series.

#1 Simon Lewis (The Mortal Instruments – Cassandra Clare)

the-mortal-instruments-covers
Yes. Two for the Mortal Instruments here. I have mentioned on several occasions that I LOVE Simon. So, really this is an excuse to fit him into any number of these features as possible. Simon rather unfortunately gets dragged into a world of demons, vampires etc and then gets turned into first a rat and then a vampire. I was saying about how much I liked Camille because she is exactly what I would expect a vampire to be, but I also love Simon for keeping hold of his humanity. There’s a really harrowing bit when he gets captured and his faith is used against him to keep him prisoner. Basically I love Simon and he’s the best. So there.

So, these are my favourite fictional vampires and not a Cullen in sight. I do a little bit love vampire fiction, even though most of it is trashy as hell so do feel free to tell me what your favourite vampires are!

2 thoughts on “My Top 5 Fictional….

  1. Saya from Blood, the Last Vampire
    Spike (not Angel, his hair goes straight up & he’s bloody stupid)
    Mitchell
    Blade (or if he doesn’t count, Spitfire of Captain Britain & the MI13)
    & Count Duckula!

Leave a Reply

