Day One!

30 day challenge header

 

I’m kicking off my 30 day blog challenge which will hopefully see me post every day in April, rather helpfully with the first post on the list which is:

1.       Your 10 favourite books of all time.

Like Charlie in The Perks of Being a Wallflower, my favourite book usually ends up being whatever I last read, but I do have a top ten that I always tend to come back to and here they are:

1)The Hobbit – JRR Tolkien.
The Hobbit was the first “proper book” I ever read. I was about eight or nine when I first read it and it took me forever, but I loved every second of it. I also loved being the only kid in class during reading time to have a book that was more than 100 pages long with no diagrams in it.

2) To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
I was fairly young when I read this for the first time too, although not as young. I just remember how much of an impact it had on me and how much I respected Atticus Finch. To a degree, it’s still the book that I base the majority of my morals on.

 3) The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephan Chobsky
I was a teenager and I felt like I had finally come across a book that actually understood exactly how I was feeling at the time and that has always stayed with me.

4)The Fault in our Stars – John Green
The most recent of the books  on this list, I read it on the plane going to New York and as such, whenever I read it or look at the cover, I remember how insanely awesome that trip was and how much fun I had in the city. It also helps that TFIOS is heartbreaking and agonisingly brilliant.

5) Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood 
This was my A Level English Lit text and at first I really didn’t want to read it, I think the other class were doing 1984 which also very nearly ended up on this list, but I got really into Handmaid’s Tale and it sparked a love of dystopia off within me. Although I had loved 1984 and had read a few dystopian novels, this was the one that really got me hooked.

6) Looking for Alaska – John Green
John Green’s second appearance on this list. This was the first John Green book I ever read and like Handmaid’s Tale was a gateway book into a whole realm of YA novels so I had to include it for that reason. Plus, I, like Pudge, have an obsession with people’s last words and I had never come across anyone else that had before.

7) The Princess Bride – William Goldman
Another book from my childhood. If this book doesn’t appear on your favourite books of all time list then you are living life wrong.

8) Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban – J K Rowling.
I love all the Harry Potter books, but this one was my absolute favourite. I don’t know why particularly, I just always cite this one as being my favourite. I think it’s because unlike the others, Voldemort doesn’t have much to do with the story so it made a nice change to not be about Harry defeating the Dark Lord. Also, because Umbridge, Lupin and Sirius are incredible characters and my love of Snape started in this book.

9) The Book Thief – Markus Zusk
I only got around to reading this last year (thank you World Book Night) but I found it to be one of the most powerful books I’d read in a really long time and it made me fall in love with reading all over again.

10) Goodnight Mr Tom – Michelle Magorian
Yet another from my childhood, I remember picking this up on the recommendation of a supply teacher when I was in primary school because we had just started studying World War Two and I instantly fell in love with it. I actually had to replace my copy because I read it so much it actually fell apart.

So, there we have my ten favourite books of all time. Tune in again tomorrow for part two of the 30 day blog challenge!

Leave a Reply

