Day Two

30 day challenge header

Day two of the blog challenge brings this discussion point:

       Your 5 least favourite books of all time.

How can I possibly pick five books that I hate?! Like I said yesterday, usually whatever I’ve last read counts as my current favourite book, I’ll admit, sometimes, I read things and think, hmmm, I didn’t really like that, but there is a big difference between disliking something and rating it your least favourite book ever. But, I did have a little think and I have come up with the following.

1 Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte.
Oh, how do I hate thee, let me count the ways… Many people (my friend, Annie included) thinks this is sacreligious but I have to be truthful, I absolutely can’t stand Jane Eyre. I have tried to read it several times and each time it’s that little bit more unbareable. The first time I was quite young and I’d seen it in the library and wanted it and I just, I think I managed about a quarter of it before I got bored, subsequently, every couple of years I try desperately to understand what’s so great about it but I just can’t. It just bores me and I wish I knew what it was that makes me hate it so much because I actually really want to read it and enjoy it.

2 Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte.
Now this just makes me look like I have some sort of vendetta against the Bronte’s and this isn’t true at all! I read Wuthering Heights as part of my 52 books challenge, it was in fact the first book I downloaded onto my kindle and I was really excited about reading it because it’s one of the great romances. I just hated it. I hated the way it was written, I hated every single character, I couldn’t wait for it to end. To this day, when people talk about how much they love this book and how great a love story it is, I fail to see the appeal.

3 Fifty Shades of Grey – E L James. 
I guess I should get 4) Fifty Shades Freed and 5) Fifty Shades Darker over with at the same time. There are many, many reasons as to why I hate this trilogy. They are all mostly to do with how terrible the writing is, how ridiculous a character Ana is and how terrifyingly unhealthy the relationship between Christian and Ana is. Out of the three, the last one is the best but all of them are truly terrible books.

So that’s day two, tomorrow I get to talk about my favourite characters and which books they’re from!

Leave a Reply

