Day Three

30 day challenge header

Day Three of the blog challenge is this:

       Your favourite characters and which books they’re from.

This was actually insanely difficult, because even characters that I would not in anyway want to meet in real life are still some of my favourites because they are so well written and because of that, I had to be quite sensible, because, come on, we could be here all day. So, here is the shortlist (which is probably going to end up being very long) of my favourite characters and where you can find them.

Inigo Montoya (The Princess Bride – William Golding)
Hello. My name is Inigo Montoya. You killed my father. Prepare to die.
Actually, every single character in The Princess Bride is my favourite. I just ended up choosing Inigo because of his catch phrase and his never ending quest to find a six fingered man.

Atticus Finch (To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee)
I think I said before when talking about my favourite books of all time that I loved To Kill a Mockingbird because of Atticus Finch, when I first read it I remember thinking to myself, screw the bible, Atticus Finch is the man that we need to take life lessons from. He’s just so inherently good that even when he’s bad, it’s for the right reasons.

Will Herondale (The Infernal Devices – Cassandra Clare)
When I reviewed Clockwork Princess I said that Will was my special snowflake and he is. I love Will Herondale, he’s so tortured and miserable and tries to be a hero all the time to cope with the fact that he is so tortured and miserable. I think that’s why I love him. Although, it is strange to think that Will and his great great great grandson, Jace, are pretty much identical characters, anything said or done by Will are replicated in the mortal instruments, just with Jace’s name next to the action instead and yet, I Jace irritates the hell out of me. I’m not entirely sure why.

Patrick (The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephan Chobsky)
Most people when reading Perks identify with Charlie, I certainly did, but out of all the characters in that book, Patrick was easily the most courageous and I think that’s really admirable. Plus, Ezra Miller.

Ginny Weasley (Harry Potter series – J K Rowling)
Ginny Weasley is so often overlooked and loads of people hate her but she is the single most amazing character in the whole Harry Potter series. She was possessed and tortured by Lord Voldemort when she was just a first year, she was eleven freaking years old, she played on the quidditch team, she joined the DA, yes she had a massive crush on Harry, but she didn’t let it dictate her life, she went out with other people and actually enjoyed being a teenager and waited for him to come to her instead of doing the chasing. And then, when Harry left to go and be a hero, she let him, because she knew that’s what he had to do but she was still there at the end to stand by him. And then, and then, as if that wasn’t enough, she freaking took part in the biggest battle ever seen, lost her brother, tried to take on Beltrix Lestrange on her own and then became a world famous Quidditch player, like really?! Ginny is the bomb! Also, like, Ginny married her celebrity crush, so if she can do it, so can I.

Ally Love (Ally’s World – Karen McCombie)
I find that so few people have heard of this series and it upsets me because it’s so good! Back when everyone else was going on about how awesome the Georgia Nicholson books were, I was busy devouring the Ally’s World series instead. Ally is just your average gawky thirteen year old girl who ends up getting herself in all sorts of scrapes with her incredibly dysfunctional family but she’s really endearing and charming which is why I love her.

Augustus Waters (The Fault in Our Stars – John Green)
I don’t really need to talk about this one do I? He had me at his correct use of literally.

Elizabeth Bennett (Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austin)
Lizzie Bennett is a BAMF. That’s all there is to it. And, in Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, she is even more so. If only there were more Lizzie Bennetts in the world than there were Bella Swans.

Emma (One Day – David Nicholls)
Emma is me. I am her. We are one. When I loaned this to my mum for her holiday, the first thing she said to me when she got back wasn’t whether she had a nice time or whether the hotel was clean, it was (and I believe this is verbatim : is this book based on your life? It’s not the nicest life to be compared with, but I am resigned to the fact that Emma and I have grand ambitions and not much success, that we have both ended up stuck in shitty jobs because of that, but that we both ultimately want more. Plus, if I am Emma then that means that someone from my past is going to realise that they love me. Thankfully, I don’t know how to ride a bike so I can’t be expected to know too much about my own demise.

Albus Dumbledore (Harry Potter – J K Rowling)
I needed ten to make this a nice round list and well, Dumbledore is kind of like a slightly less moral Atticus Finch, so I added him anyway.

That ended up being much harder than necessary. Tomorrows will be much easier I think, I can already think of two answers I can put down!

Leave a Reply

