Day Five

30 day challenge header

Day Five and yet another post that I had to spend all day pontificating. I’m starting to regret promising to do this! Right, let’s give myself a bit more time to decide on an answer by telling you lot the brief for today’s post:

     If you were stranded on a desert island, what five books would you take with you? Include one reason for each.

See! That’s a tough one! I could either do this in the style of Desert Island discs and pick five books that mean something to me and my life, or, I could just think about the possibility of being stuck on a desert island which had already had it’s rum supply burnt so I couldn’t create a huge fire for someone to spot and then rescue me. Seriously, why is the rum always gone?

Right then, I would of course, if I could, take either a book on how to build a raft so I could get home should I need to, or at least, failing that, a book on survival skills, because I would not last long out in the wilderness. If I couldn’t have either of those, then these five would probably suffice.

1) Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov
I used to live with a girl who swore that this was one of the best books ever in the entire world. She bought her copy from a charity shop and it had a suspicious stain on the back cover, this much I remember. So, I went and got my own stain free version and ever since then I have been trying to get around to finishing it. Its a book I think I would enjoy, it’s one that I have always wanted to read, but whenever I start I just can never be bothered to finish or something else comes along and I get distracted. One day I will do it, so if I’m stuck on a desert island with nothing else distracting me, it might be the perfect place to try and read Lolita.

2) Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – J K Rowling.
Aside from the fact that it’s really good, it’s also really big and I could probably use it to shelter under or perhaps shield myself from rabid animals.

3) Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas – Hunter S Thompson.
It’s very funny and I imagine being stuck on a desert island gets a bit monotonous so I’d need something funny. Also, Thompson is a bit mad and I think I would get a bit mad too being stuck on an island all on my own, so it would be nice to have someone to be mad with.

4) 1984 – George Orwell
Just to remind me that I’m not missing much back home, I could be here in the peace, solitude and privacy of a desert island or I could be under the watchful eye of CCTV 24/7 and having to deal with people getting excited about the return of Big Brother.

And finally, 5) Fifty Shades of Grey – E L James. 
I might need something to start a fire, you know, if there’s no rum. Or toilet paper. That would be useful.

I’m actually looking forward to the post for day six! So tune in tomorrow to find out what that one is all about.

Leave a Reply

