Day Eight

30 day challenge header

This one has to be the most exciting post I’ve gotten to do so far!

Your favourite quotes from books.

I could be here forever with this one. I collect quotes, I have a huge book of them. I like quotes and last words so trust me when I say that I am beaming so hard right now that I get to fish some of those quotes out.

The first one I’m going to tell you about is this:
“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book” – The Fault in Our Stars (John Green). Eurgh, could there be a more beautiful sentence than that?! Like, honestly, pretty much the entirety of The Fault in Our Stars could appear on this list (I fell in love the same way you fall asleep, slowly then all at once, anyone?). But that one, about the books filling you with a weird evangelical zeal, that is everything that I have ever wanted to say about a book ever.

Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?” – Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (J K Rowling.)

I kind of love this one too, because really, so many things are just discounted or invalidated because it’s happening in your head but that doesn’t mean that the situation or the pain or the happiness isn’t real, it’s still real to you and I think this quote is the one that made me think, actually, Dumbledore, I kind of love you.

“What came first – the music or the misery? Did I listen to the music because I was miserable? Or was I miserable because I listened to the music? Do all those records turn you into a melancholy person?” – High Fidelity (Nick Hornby). The age old question, I find that I ask myself this a lot, especially after reading this book which led me to wonder whether I started thinking that because of this book or whether I already thought it and this book just articulated it for me.

“You know the reason The Beatles made it so big?…’I Wanna Hold Your Hand.’ First single. Fucking brilliant. Perhaps the most fucking brilliant song ever written. Because they nailed it. That’s what everyone wants. Not 24/7 hot wet sex. Not a marriage that lasts a hundred years. Not a Porsche…or a million-dollar crib. No. They wanna hold your hand. They have such a feeling that they can’t hide. Every single successful song of the past fifty years can be traced back to ‘I Wanna Hold Your Hand.’ And every single successful love story has those unbearable and unbearably exciting moments of hand-holding.” – Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist (David Levithan and Rachel Cohn) hint, David Levithan is going to pop up again in a moment, because he is simply the greatest wordsmith ever and everything that he writes affects me in some way or another. This quote just sums up exactly how I feel about pop music, because The Beatles, they sang about things that were lovely and innocent and now we have songs like Whistle by Flo Rida which is about getting a girl to give you head. Like, really? Do we need to listen to songs like that? I would much rather listen to someone singing about an actual feeling, something that means something. But maybe that’s just because I’m a part time radio DJ and I hate a lot of pop music.

Here’s another David Levithan quote, just because:
“livid, adj.
Fuck You for cheating on me. Fuck you for reducing it to the word cheating. As if this were a card game, and you sneaked a look at my hand. Who came up with the term cheating, anyway? A cheater, I imagine. Someone who thought liar was too harsh. Someone who thought devastator was too emotional. The same person who thought, oops, he’d gotten caught with his hand in the cookie jar. Fuck you. This isn’t about slipping yourself an extra twenty dollars of Monopoly money. These are our lives. You went and broke our lives. You are so much worse than a cheater. You killed something. And you killed it when its back was turned.” – The Lovers Dictionary.
I enjoyed the whole of The Lovers Dictionary, but this one stood out the most because it’s just the most articulate way to describe how someone feels once they’ve been betrayed by someone and just eurgh. David Levithan makes me want to weep next to the pile that used to be my aspirations as a writer.

I should really stop with this because there are far, far too many and I will be here for the rest of time posting them. I’d be interested to know what all your favourite quotes from books are, though no one ever comments on these!

5 thoughts on “Day Eight

Leave a Reply

