Day eleven

30 day challenge header

We’re still on film related book posts it seems!

    Name three absolutely awful film adaptations of books.

There are a lot of these. It’s very rare to find a film adaptation that is as good as the book, I could list every single Harry Potter film, because part of the magic of the books are the times everyone is just hanging out in the common room, that and the fact that some of the actors are just not in anyway the right age for the characters (Lucius Malfoy was supposed to have been at school during the original chamber of secrets and yet Jason Isaacs didn’t look old enough… That and Sirius, Lupin etc were supposedly in their thirties… And the actors were much older) and the whole Harry has his mother’s eyes thing. Like, are you seriously telling me that couldn’t have been done in post production?! Then there are films like The Hobbit. Which I really wanted to enjoy, and did to an extent enjoy but just didn’t really follow the story of the book at all (like seriously, that one book across three films?!) But here are three truly terrible film adaptations which should be lasered from everyone’s memories. Again, like yesterday, we’ve got the directors name and the authors name in here for reference.

The Golden Compass (book by Phillip Pullman, film by Chris Weiz)
Firstly, they changed the title. Secondly, just what in the name of all that is holy happened? Northern Lights, and in fact the entirety of His Dark Materials, is genius, it is amazing. The film is possibly the biggest waste of time and money I have ever seen. This has little to do with my hatred of Daniel Craig and everything to do with it being a truly terrible film.

Breaking Dawn: Part Two (book by Stephanie Meyer, film by Bill Condon)
I liked the first Twilight film. It was alright. So was the third one, by the time it got to four and five it just felt a little like even the actors didn’t care any more. It came across like everyone was just going, “you know what, everyone thinks we’re idiots, let’s let them think that we think we’re idiots too.” Breaking Dawn is easily one of the most anti climatic, pointless pieces of literature ever, NOTHING HAPPENS. The film was slightly better, only because there was an entire fight scene added in. Only then it turned out to be a dream sequence and I went back to thinking it was the worst film ever. Although, being based on one of the worst books ever I suppose it was at least being consistent. There were three good points in this film though, firstly RPattz and his general standoffishness, the guy who played Garrett and Michael Sheen’s peculiar scream when he came face to face with Renesme for the first time.

Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief (book by Rick Riordan, film by Chris Columbus – not the man who sailed the world and gave diseases to half of America).
I really loved the Percy Jackson books. I just didn’t think the film was much cop. The second film comes out later this year, and of course I’ll see it, and of course I’ll moan about it. I actually really like Logan Lerman, I think he’s a bit good, he was amazing in Perks of Being a Wallflower, I just… I need Andrew Garfield
garfield

It was just a little clunky I suppose. I can’t really explain it.

But anyway, there you go. Three bad film adaptations. Tomorrow I get to discuss my favourite authors. Although, if you’ve been following this blog for a while you’ll know about one or two of those already. 

4 thoughts on “Day eleven

  1. I definitely agree with HP and The Hobbit (although The Hobbit was quite a good film and if you didn’t know the book you’d probably enjoy it). I saw The Golden Compass and now I have difficulty recalling anything about it except a vague feeling of confusion and dislike…

Leave a Reply

