Love You, Hate You, Miss You

5245026

Love You, Hate You, Miss You – Elizabeth Scott

I’ve got a huge pile of Elizabeth Scott books and I’ve not read any of them until now. I really didn’t know what to expect with this, the blurb just says this:

Get this, I’m supposed to be starting a journal about “my journey.” Please. I can see it now: Dear Diary, As I’m set adrift on this crazy sea called “life” . . . I don’t think so.It’s been seventy-five days. Amy’s sick of her parents suddenly taking an interest in her.And she’s really sick of people asking her about Julia. Julia’s gone now, and she doesn’t want to talk about it. They wouldn’t get it, anyway. They wouldn’t understand what it feels like to have your best friend ripped away from you.They wouldn’t understand what it feels like to know it’s your fault.Amy’s shrink thinks it would help to start a diary. Instead, Amy starts writing letters to Julia.But as she writes letter after letter, she begins to realize that the past wasn’t as perfect as she thought it was–and the present deserves a chance too.

The story begins with Amy leaving a rehabilitation centre for a drinking problem, so my initial thoughts were that Julia was a best friend that had separated herself from her so that she could get better. Wow. How wrong was I?

This was a bit emotional. It gave me feelings. Amy was just so torn apart by guilt and confusion and struggling to not give in to her desperate need for a drink whilst at the same time trying to deal with her parents trying to deal with what she’d done and having to go to school and be around all the people that knew what had happened, it was almost suffocating, the amount of feeling. This was so well written, a know a lot of people over at goodreads were criticising it for sounding teenage, but Amy is a teenager, that’s how it’s supposed to sound, I was really drawn into her character and her situation, so much so that I read this in about six hours and am now desperate to get started on the rest of the Elizabeth Scott books in my collection.

I didn’t like that Amy constantly complained about being ginger (I’ve always wanted to be ginger – this is who I am now, rude and not ginger) and makes comments about being too tall, I know that she’s insecure, but by the end, I was starting to feel a little insecure myself and I am neither of the things that she was moaning about. I only mention this moaning about her appearance constantly thing, because she does have a pretty active sex life and before the incident that took Julia away, she was really rather popular, so she must have come across as being attractive to other people. But I was definitely not sorry that I read this, my only regret is that it took me so long. Guys, you need to tell me which other Elizabeth Scott books I should have in my life and which one to go for next!

2 thoughts on “Love You, Hate You, Miss You

  1. Pingback: Things What I read (April) – The Perks of Being a Bookworm

  2. Pingback: The Unwritten Rule – The Perks of Being a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

