Day Twenty Two

30 day challenge header

I DUNNO ABOUT YOUUUU BUT I’M FEEEEEELING TWENTY TWOOOOO!
Today’s post gets a musical introduction because we’re on day 22 and Taylor Swift has a song out called 22 and I quite like it.

A book you once loved, but don’t any more. What changed?

Ohhhh, so many.
The one I am going to pick to talk about today though is Catcher in the Rye by J. D Salinger. See, the thing is, I LOVED Catcher in the Rye when I first read it, I thought Holden Caulfield was a great character who shared my outlook and my fears and my view of the world. It was a book that really spoke to me and it was probably one of the first times when I felt that I could truly related to a character. And then everyone seemed to discover it and I just fell out of of love a little. Don’t get me wrong, I do still look on the story with great affection, but I feel like it’s tainted a little now because people make references to things being “phoney” and to Holden Caulfield and it doesn’t feel special to me any more. So, you see, it wasn’t you Holden, it was me, I just don’t love you any more. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

