Day Twenty Three

30 day challenge header

Following on from yesterday when we were discussing books that you used to love and now hate, here’s the opposite:

A book you once hated, but now love. What changed?

It’s not so much a book that I used to hate, a book that I thought I would hate and so therefore never bothered to read but now love, but you know, that title is much too long so we’ll just stick with the original. The book I’m going to talk to you about today is The Old Man and The Sea by Ernest Hemingway. 

I think I’d convinced myself that I wasn’t going to like Hemingway and so I didn’t bother ever picking his books up. I read the first few pages of the old man and the sea and was like… NOPE.

Then I discovered Fitzgerald and decided that I wanted to know more about this Hemingway chap based on his friendship with Fitzgerald and ended up picking this back up again, and I found that I actually really enjoyed it. It’s a tiny book filled with imagery and and almost poetic prose. I’ve got a couple more Hemingway books to read now too, so I guess, don’t just assume that you won’t like something, because it’s quite likely that you actually will if you give it a go.

Leave a Reply

