Someday, Someday, Maybe

someday

Someday, Someday, Maybe: A Novel – Lauren Graham.

I know right, A book by actual Lorelai Gilmore. Who doesn’t love the Gilmore Girls? I’ll be honest, my love for that show made up like 75% of my decision to request this from NetGalley. So I guess I’d best tell you what this is about.

“Franny Banks is a struggling actress in New York City, with just six months left of the three year deadline she gave herself to succeed. But so far, all she has to show for her efforts is a single line in an ad for ugly Christmas sweaters and a degrading waitressing job. She lives in Brooklyn with two roommates-Jane, her best friend from college, and Dan, a sci-fi writer, who is very definitely not boyfriend material-and is struggling with her feelings for a suspiciously charming guy in her acting class, all while trying to find a hair-product cocktail that actually works. Meanwhile, she dreams of doing “important” work, but only ever seems to get auditions for dishwashing liquid and peanut butter commercials. It’s hard to tell if she’ll run out of time or money first, but either way, failure would mean facing the fact that she has absolutely no skills to make it in the real world. Her father wants her to come home and teach, her agent won’t call her back, and her classmate Penelope, who seems supportive, might just turn out to be her toughest competition yet. Someday, Someday, Maybe is a funny and charming debut about finding yourself, finding love, and, most difficult of all, finding an acting job.”

The title is very clear about this being a novel but it reads more like a memoir. I was reminded a lot of A Glamorously Unglamorous Life by Julia Albain when reading this.

It took me much longer to read than I wanted it to it didn’t engage me in the way that I wanted it to and although it’s funny and I wasn’t bored with it, I wasn’t exactly filled with an intense urge to pick it up either.

I liked it and I found a lot of the situations Franny ends up in funny and smirked my way through a lot of it, I didn’t find myself getting excited about reading it until I started getting towards the end. Some of it wasn’t all that engaging but that’s more likely a me problem than a problem with the story.

It’s funny, Franny is very endearing and her thoughts on love triangles had me laughing to myself for ages. I liked the rom com comparison in this, but the only thing I really didn’t like was the ending, it didn’t really satisfy me in the way that I wanted it to. With the rom com related themes I was really expecting a slow motion run through an airport terminal type ending. The actual one was a bit too implicit for me.

But anyway, this is a fun read and if you’re into the New York acting scene, want to be an actor and love Lauren Graham, this is the book for you.

3 thoughts on “Someday, Someday, Maybe

Leave a Reply

