The Great Bookish Bake Off – Pineapple Upside Down Cake

bookishbakeoffThe cakes I bake and the books I read whilst baking them. 

This is a feature that came into fruitation during my thirty day challenge, mostly because I made some cakes and realised that I spend the time waiting for the cake to actually be edible reading so why not blog about what I read when I’m cake baking?!

Today’s cake was Pineapple Upside Down cake. I found some pineapple rings in the cupboard that needed eating and I thought to myself, I should probably open them before they go off, then I realised that I’ve never made  pineapple upside down cake even though it seems to be the staple recipe in most food technology/ home economics lessons. I must have always been off those days. Anyway, ingredients, assemble!20130503-200544.jpg

For this you will need:
150g self raising flour
150g butter
150g sugar
2 eggs
Pineapple rings
Golden syrup
A greased cake tin
Something to measure it all in
Something to mix it all in and if like me you read whilst making stuff, the book of your choice. The book I went with is an ARC I mentioned in my last book haul which I’ve just gotten around to loading onto my kindle called Homo (no prizes for guessing what that’s about). So, now we have all our equipment at the ready, let’s go!

First things first, grease the cake tin. I have learnt the hard way that if you cook a cake without either grease proof paper or buttering up that bad boy, your cake is probably never going to come back out. Once that’s got a sexy ring of butter around it (I should stop trying to be Nigella Lawson) you need to pour some golden syrup in there, enough to coat the bottom of the tin and then stick it in the oven on about 180 degrees for two minutes. I waited until that was done before cracking on with the rest, just in case I got distracted and left it in there too long, I’m not one hundred percent certain that it won’t catch fire if left for too long!

Once your golden syrup has been cooked for two minutes, get the tin back out of the oven and lay out your pineapple, rings are probably easier but, hey, go crazy! Stick some chunks in if you like! Once that’s done you can get the rest of it under way. I’m sure you know how to make a standard sponge mix so I won’t bore you with it, just know that once I got all the ingredients in my food mixer, I poured the left over syrup from the pineapple tin and an extra squeeze of golden syrup into the mixer before turning it on.

20130503-200556.jpgOnce you have something resembling cake mix, pour that as evenly as possible over the pineapple rings and syrup in the tin and put the whole thing back in the oven on 180 degrees for thirty to forty minutes. This gives you plenty of time to start reading whilst eating left over cake mix.

Like I said, I used the time to start Homo by Michael Harris. I got three chapters in before the timer sounded and so far, I think it’s ok. I’ve yet to find an LGBT story that is in anyway satisfying to me, I just find that there is far too much made of the fact that the characters are gay, like it’s their only defining characteristic and there just aren’t enough bisexual people in literature either. It’s something that really irks me. Homo starts well, I really liked the opening, it got kind of… clunky in chapter two, barely anything happened and it was a lot of: “and then I did this. And then it was homeroom. Then I went home. My dad did this.” Which was a little tedious but some of the narration is really quite deep so I guess we’ll see how it goes.

Anyway! The cake is done!
I stuck a knife in to test it was actually cooked (tip – if your knife comes out clean it’s ready to go!), and then put it on the side and stared at it for a bit. Having not ever made Pineapple Upside Down cake before, I’m not entirely sure what it’s supposed to look or taste like. After a while, I got bored of staring at it, so I carefully tipped it onto a plate and voila!

20130503-200608.jpg

It doesn’t look all that special, I realised afterwards there are meant to be cherries on there too… But no matter! It tastes pretty good, the sponge is moist and a bit sweet which I like and the syrup on top gives it a nice gooey flavour. So, all in all I’m kind of pleased with how this turned out!

Leave a Reply

