Icons

icons1

Icons – Margaret Stohl

You may remember that I disliked Beautiful Creatures, that I loved the concept but I couldn’t get over how poorly executed it was. Despite that, I was still intrigued by the premise of Icons and requested it regardless. And now I know which of Beautiful Creatures two authors I can blame the bad bits on, for this, this was awesome

The blurb is as follows: Your heart beats only with their permission.
Everything changed on The Day. The day the windows shattered. The day the power stopped. The day Dol’s family dropped dead. The day Earth lost a war it didn’t know it was fighting.Since then, Dol has lived a simple life in the countryside — safe from the shadow of the Icon and its terrifying power. Hiding from the one truth she can’t avoid. She’s different. She survived. Why? When Dol and her best friend, Ro, are captured and taken to the Embassy, off the coast of the sprawling metropolis once known as the City of Angels, they find only more questions. While Ro and fellow hostage Tima rage against their captors, Dol finds herself drawn to Lucas, the Ambassador’s privileged son. But the four teens are more alike than they might think, and the timing of their meeting isn’t a coincidence. It’s a conspiracy. Within the Icon’s reach, Dol, Ro, Tima, and Lucas discover that their uncontrollable emotions — which they’ve always thought to be their greatest weaknesses — may actually be their greatest strengths.

I’m a sucker for dystopia, seriously, children of men 1984, handmaids tale, divergent… I’m sort of working my way through everything and anything that has a dystopian setting, I would say that this is probably on par with Divergent. It has a few niggles but essentially, it’s just a really good story.

The list of things I didn’t like was so small it is barely worth mentioning, but I will anyone in the object of fairness. Firstly, everyone is bony or skinny. There are more than two adjectives to describe being thin. Just FYI. It was also a little repetitive in places, Dol’s narration was a little like being hit about the head repeatedly with one single idea, but other than that it was a fun, enigmatic adventure and I’m already itching to get my hands on the rest of the story. Like most YA fiction, there is a slightly irritating love triangle which kicks off about a third of the way in and continues all the way through which might end up being problematic (for me at least) but you never know.

Generally though, this was fast paced, had great characters, an almost District Nine feel to it and if you hated Beautiful Creatures you may be pleasantly surprised.

Icons is, I think, the perfect series to get stuck into once you’re done with The Hunger Games and such like, I just hope the rest of the series is on par.

2 thoughts on “Icons

  1. I also had trouble with Beautiful Creatures, but I thought it was just because I had it on audio book and the person narrating was horrible. I didn’t even get all the way through it. I hadn’t heard about this series yet, but it now I’m excited to get my hands on it! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

