The Great Bookish Bake Off – Mini Apple, sultana and cinnamon muffins

bookishbakeoff

The cakes I bake and the books I read while baking them.

Today I made apple, raison and cinnamon mini muffins and finished Attachments!

20130511-181724.jpgThings you will need:
Something to mix everything in
Something to measure everything with
Something to cook the muffins in (I used tiny silicone cake cases)
150g self raising flour
150g sugar
150g butter
1 egg
A handful of cranberries (I used the ones out of my graze box)
A handful of sultanas
1 apple chopped into tiny pieces
A sprinkle of cinnamon
A drizzle of golden syrup.
And the book of your choice, as I said, I used the time to finish off Attachments by Rainbow Rowell.

Once all my ingredients were measured out, I chucked them all into a food blender and sprinkled my fruit on top, the apple was peeled and then diced into small squares, the cranberries and sultanas were naturally more bite sized! After the syrup and the cinnamon had gone on I just mixed the lot for three minutes and spooned it into the cake cases. I’ve never used silicone cake cases before, these were new ones so I wanted to try them out. I put them into the oven on 180 degrees for thirty minutes and finished off the last four chapters of Attachments.

Attachments is one of those books I’ve wanted to read forever, I also have Eleanor and Parks and Fangirl on my wish list, although after finishing this I don’t think I’ll be after them with so much desperation. Although I liked it, I can’t say as I was all that impressed, maybe I built it up a little too much. Anyway, the cover is beautiful and it does have some really lovely moments in it so do give it a chance if you come across it.

Once my cakes were cooked, I had a little debate about whether or not to ice them, just because they didn’t really look muffin shaped. But then my dad had one and told me they were fine without icing, so I just left them. They don’t look much but they taste awesome and they’ve got enough fruit in so that I don’t feel bad about eating them!

Leave a Reply

