Great bookish bake off – rhubarb and custard cake.

bookishbakeoff

The cakes I bake and the books I read whilst baking them.

It’s rhubarb picking time which means that in my house there is going to be a lot of crumble being made. I don’t like rhubarb or custard, but my parents love it and as my Grandad grows the stuff it was up to me to do something with it. I’m forever making crumble so I thought I’d do something different this time and make a cake. I found a recipe online and gave it a go! 20130519-183053.jpg

Things you will need:
Something to mix everything in
Something to weight everything with
150g flour
150g sugar
150g butter
200g rhubarb
1 egg
1 tin of custard – not chilled.
A roasting tin
A cake tin.
A book of your choice – I had an ARC of Insomnia to get through.

First things first, you need to cut your rhubarb into fingers, arrange it on a tin foil lined roasting tin and sprinkle it with sugar. That needs to go in the oven for 15 minutes. While that’s cooking you can get everything else sorted. Open your tin of custard, I used Ambrosia, you need to keep some of it aside for later. About half of it needs to be mixed with the sugar, flour, butter and egg to make cake batter. When the rhubarb is done roasting, grease your cake tin and add a layer of cake mix, on the first layer add a couple of chunks of rhubarb, then continue alternatively layering until you’ve filled up the cake tin. Then you need to drizzle your left over custard over the top.

Once all that was done I stuck it in the oven on 180 degrees for forty minutes at which point the top was looking fairly cooked and a knife through the middle came out clean. Despite this it was still fairly floppy and not quite solid. Not being partial to either rhubarb or custard I let the parents have a go at it, and well, turns out that even though it didn’t look as cake like as I expected it to, they have managed to eat a substantial amount!

20130519-183111.jpg

 

I used the time that it was baking to get cracking on with an ARC of Insomniac, it’s getting really good at the moment! I’m about 15% in and I’m loving it so far. Here’s hoping that some more rhubarb finds it’s way into the kitchen so I can make something else and finish reading it!

4 thoughts on “Great bookish bake off – rhubarb and custard cake.

  1. Pingback: No. 1 on the list of things I don’t know if I deserve: Very Inspiring Blog Award | A Wordless Blogger

  2. Pingback: Lemon and white chocolate cup cakes – The Perks of Being a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

