Things what I read (May)

Here’s a round up of everything I read in May!

miceOf Mice and Men – John Steinbeck
One of the fist books from the library that I’ve hired in ages. I left a note in this for the book notes project, so if you hire this and find a note in it, that was me! This was a re read, I first read it back in secondary school for English and it’s just as good as I remember it being.

homo2Homo – Michael Harris
Eurgh. Read my review here. It was endlessly frustratingly bad.
Seriously though, someone needs to recommend to me a book with LGBT characters who have more than just their sexuality going for them. I thought with a book like this, it would have been more satisfying than it was.

attachments smallAttachments – Rainbow Rowell
This was… Ok I guess. It was a huge disappointment because I had been searching for it desperately having read so many amazing reviews and so it just fell a little flat to me. But it was quite lovely in places so don’t let that put you off!

boyThe Boy in the Striped Pyjamas – John Boyne
I hate writing bad reviews. But it angered me so much that I felt compelled to. Seriously, if this is what kids today have to teach them about the holocaust, well… God help us all. If you like this book and will be hideously offended by my thoughts, then don’t click here.

magicM is for Magic – Neil Gaiman.
A collection of short stories, some of which were better than others, I quite liked it but it’s one of those books that I wish that I had read when I was a bit younger, I might have had a greater appreciation for it then!

insomniaInsomnia – J. R Johanson
This was an ARC from netgalley that I have had on my kindle forever and have finally gotten around to reading. There will be a review of soon, I actually really enjoyed this so look out for it, it’s released in June

knifeThe Knife of Never Letting Go – Patrick Ness
Well. That was a bit good wasn’t it? This was one of my world book night books, I had a couple left over so I thought I would keep one and after much encouragement from various people that I had handed the book out to, I decided to give it a go. I kinda love it when you find books that just make you so insanely glad that you’re privileged enough to be able to read things and this was one of those books.

I didn’t read as much this month as I wanted to, I think it was because I discovered and became addicted to Hemlock Grove on Netflix, so I was  watching that in my free time despite how appalling it is… Then of course new Arrested Development happened so I’ve been distracting myself with that instead of reading. I am still trucking on with Les Miserables too and hopefully I’ll read a bit more in June!

5 thoughts on “Things what I read (May)

  1. Whoa that’s a lot of books! I also read Of Mice and Men for secondary school English *internet high five!* I thought it was a pretty great story and still remember it vividly.
    I’m so undecided as to whether to give The Knife of Never Letting Go a chance…I’ve heard so many great things about it! Maybe I will in the future. 🙂

    • *internet high five*!! The knife of never letting go was great! It ends a bit abruptly though so make sure you have the next two in the series on hand, I’m going a bit crazy without them! I don’t know what happens next!

Leave a Reply

