The Great Bookish Bake Off – Easter Biscuits

bookishbakeoff

The cakes I bake and the books I read while baking them.

I know it’s not Easter any more but I bloody love Easter biscuits. They’re like the best biscuits ever, I’ve never made biscuits before so I thought I’d give my first go at it to my favourite kind of biscuit.

20130520-201402.jpg

Things you will need:
Kitchen scales
A mixer
A bowl
A wooden spoon
A rolling pin
A baking tray
Tin foil
85g sugar
85g butter
1 egg yolk
45g currents
170g flour
1/2 a tspoon of spices.
The book of your choice, I decided to use the time to finish off the ARC of Insomnia I was beginning when I made rhubarb and custard cake.

Firstly, cream together your butter and sugar and add in your egg yolk. I stuck these three things into a blender to mix together and then transferred that into another bowl into which I added my flour, currents and spices. The thing that makes Easter Biscuits so good is the spices and I’m a bit of a cinnamon fiend so I poured A LOT of spice into my mixture. I used a wooden spoon to mix all of that into a stuff dough – if it’s not stiff enough for your liking, add a bit of milk, but not too much! And if it’s too wet, get some more flour in there, once it starts sticking together you can get your hands in the bowl and do some kneading. This is a bit of a messy recipe so  maybe don’t wear your best clothes when you’re making these!

Pour some flour over a surface, put the dough on the floured surface and roll it out, use either a biscuit cutter or the rim of a tumbler to make them biscuit shaped and then place the individual biscuits on the tin foil covered baking tray and stick them in the oven for 20 – 25 minutes on 180 degrees.

I didn’t have a lot of time to make progress with Insomnia, but I got a couple of chapters in and then I had biscuits to eat while I finished another few chapters!

2 thoughts on “The Great Bookish Bake Off – Easter Biscuits

Leave a Reply

