The Great Bookish Bakeoff – Turkish Delight cup cakes

bookishbakeoff

The cakes I make and the books I read whilst making them. 

20130615-171846.jpg

Technically, these are for Father’s Day, but I made them today instead of tomorrow because… Well… It’s kind of difficult to get into the kitchen on a Sunday. Anyway, my dad (and I) love Turkish Delight so I thought I would have a go at making Turkish delight cup cakes and using the cooking time to crack into The Elite.

Things you will need:
Something to mix it all in.
Something to weigh it in.
Cake cases.
For the cake mix:
150g butter
150g self raising flour
150g sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon of rose water
1 box of Turkish Delight (the squares not the chocolate bars, though I guess you could use that if you wanted!)
For the icing:
100g butter
200g sugar
pink food colouring
1 tea spoon of rose water
Any remaining Turkish Delight Squares.
And the book of your choice. I had The Elite.

I’m sure ya’ll know how to make cake mix so I won’t bore you with that, I stuck the sugar, flour, butter and egg in a mixer and mixed all that together for a bit, then dropped in my tea spoon of rose water, I mixed it until it was fully creamy and smooth.
After I got that mixed up, I took a knife to my Turkish Delight, I focused on the rose flavoured squares for this bit, chopped each one into four which was much harder than I thought it was going to be! Once I had small chunks, I filled cake cases with batter and pushed two Turkish Delight chunks into each case. Those went into the oven for forty minutes and I got cracking with The Elite.
I haven’t read The Selection, I seem to be getting into series part way through these days. I keep seeing all these amazing reviews for The Elite though and I’ve read enough reviews of The Selection to sort of know what’s going on so when I saw it on NetGalley I kind of had to have it. I’m only a quarter of the way through it at the moment and there’s been enough references of the back story for me to pick it up fairly quickly. I think the whole America/Aspen and America/ Maxon thing is going to start getting on my nerves soon unless something exciting happens but I’m enjoying the narrative so far and I kind of love the idea, it’s like a less violent Hunger Games.

Once the cakes were cooked and cooled I got started on the icing. I had an icing disaster the other weeks when I made fruit cakes, I attempted to do some pretty decoration and my icing bag split and the icing melted. It wasn’t pretty, but these turned out ok!
I beat 100g of softened butter until it was creamy, then I added the sugar a bit at a time, when it was looking slightly butter creamy, I dropped in a few drops of colouring and the teaspoon of rose water. I stirred it a bit more until it was evenly pink. I didn’t dare do anything too extravagant this time around, I just did a bit of spreading with a knife and using the lemon Turkish Delight squares that were left over to decorate them.

Even though these were supposed to be for Father’s Day, my dad has already tucked into them and given them his seal of approval so I maybe making these again in the near future. Perhaps one massive victoria sponge type thing?
Anyway, I have the rest of The Elite to finish, so laters chaps and chapettes!

Leave a Reply

