MY BOOK IS ACTUALLY FOR SALE!

So, you guys may or may not know about the absolute headache I have had trying to get this book released after it was accepted for publication. There have been arguments over taxes, format, the amount of pages, and then the incredibly long wait for it to actually become a thing, and NOW IT IS. I don’t really care about earning any money from it, I usually upload things that I’ve written to my website for free, I don’t even really mind that much if people like them, I like writing them and you know, if people can’t afford to buy books but want to read books, then I have them for free, and if you don’t like it fine, not a problem. I’ve never actually tried to properly sell anything that I’ve written before, and now I am actually nervous about whether people like it or not, they’ve actually spent money on it, there’s a bit of pressure involved now. I don’t mind if people don’t buy it, or steal it, or you know, whatever, I just…. The fact that this is a thing that exists is enough for me. I’ve always wanted to be a published author, and although, publishing ebooks and hosting them myself was a step in that direction, this is an actual physical, paper back book, and to me, that it huge. This is what I’ve always wanted, and if other people like it, that’s an added bonus.

I didn’t even know that it had been added to amazon listings until last night. Last night, my dad convinced me to go to his work’s social club to watch his friend’s band play. While I was there, my friend texted me to say they had just bought my book on Amazon, sending me this:

20130707-105013.jpg

I didn’t even know it was on there!

This is going to be my Daniel Radcliffe “and I cried and I was in the bath” type story. In years to come, when I’m talking about the moment my first book ever got released, the story I will tell is that I was sat with my parents, my aunt and uncle, in the local social club watching a really awful band and contemplating how sad it is to be nearly 25 and to be out with your parents, when I received a text telling me that my book had been bought.
This morning, I woke up to my facebook news feed all being my friends buying it and getting amazon to do that linky thing that it does. I’m a bit shell shocked about it to be honest, I’m not really sure if I should be celebrating or nervous or… Well, what! But, it’s been a long time coming, it’s finally out there, people can buy it and I suppose that’s the main thing.

I will be doing a giveaway on goodreads at some point, you know, just in case someone is interested in winning a copy… So, if you are, keep your eyes peeled. In the the mean time, the book is now available to buy on Amazon UK, EU and US in case you might want it… And the kindle book is out in a few weeks. But, you know, news.

Leave a Reply

