The Great Bookish Bakeoff – Lemon Jelly Cheesecake.

bookishbakeoff

The cakes I bake and the books I read while baking them. 

20130712-191635.jpgI know, I know… This isn’t really baking… It’s more of mixing and then setting. But it’s MEGA hot here at the moment and my mum had told me about some lemon cheesecake muffin things that someone at work had made her, so I thought I’d have a go at making a cheesecake for myself. I’ve not made a cheesecake from scratch before. I modified a packet bought one once, which I might upload the recipe for because everyone but me seemed to like it.

Anyway, ingredients assemble!
I found the basic recipe for this by googling lemon cheesecake, so feel free to have a look online and do some modifications if this doesn’t seem right to you.

What you will need:
A tin
Several bowls
Scales
300g of Philadelphia or other soft cheese (I used the light version)
1 lemon
1 packet of lemon jelly
50g butter
100g digestive biscuits.
The book of your choice, I used to setting time to read more of Pretty Little Liars (pro tip – just watch the telly show, it’s much better) and also made the whole ordeal into a mini musical.

The first thing I did was made the base, I melted the 50g butter in the microwave for 40 seconds, while that was melting, I weighed out 100g of digestive biscuits then beat them senseless with a rolling pin until they were mere crumbs on the worktop. Once the butter is liquid, pour the biscuit crumbs into it and give it a stir until the biscuit absorbs it all and starts getting a bit sticky, smooth the biscuit base so that it is flat and stick in the fridge to cool.
Then I made the jelly, again by using the micro wave. Tear the jelly cubes into individual squares and add them to a jug of 100 ml of cold water. Put the lot into the microwave for 1 minute, it should be runny by the time it comes back out. This then needs to be stirred whilst the juice of one lemon is added to it, keep stirring and then leave in a cool place until it’s on the point of setting.

In a separate bowl, spoon your 300g of cream cheese, you will need to gradually add in the lemon mixture, stirring as you do until it’s all mixed in and the cheese is runny. This gets poured over the biscuit base and refrigerated for 2 – 3 hours. Which is more than enough time to read a book and write a short musical.

The cheese cake was cut up and sampled after tea today, my parents both said encouraging things about my first try at making a cheese cake from scratch, but I wasn’t so sure, I think I’ll need another piece to make up my mind properly!

4 thoughts on “The Great Bookish Bakeoff – Lemon Jelly Cheesecake.

  1. Pingback: Great Bookish Bakeoff – Mars Bar Cheesecake | The Perks of Being a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

