Bossypants

bossypants

Bossypants – Tina Fey

Accurate visual representation of my reaction to reading this book:

funny2

Also this:

trynottolaugh

And maybe a little bit this:
funny

I haven’t read a memoir since the days of my 52 books challenge where I read a whole load of them, the past two years I seem to have unintentionally stuck to fiction titles of some description or another and really wanted to get back into reading biographies. Biographies are my favourite kind of non fiction book, especially if they are on someone that I admire, Tina Fey is one of those people.

I’ve been a fan of her work for many years, people who have seen Mean Girls and 30 Rock probably agree with this. So I was more than happy when my TBR Jar came up with this for my next read.

In her acceptance speech for Mark Twain Prize for American Humor, Tina Fey announced that she was proud to make her home in “the ‘not-real America'”. It is perhaps that healthy sense of incongruity that makes the head writer, executive producer, and star of NBC’s Emmy Award-winning 30 Rock such a cogent observer of the contemporary scene. 
Bossypants, her entertaining new memoir, shows that strangeness has been her constant companion. Fey’s stories about her childhood in Upper Darby, Pennsylvania are only appetizers for LOL forays into her college disasters, honeymoon catastrophes, and Saturday Night Live shenanigans. Most funny read of the month; the best possible weekend update.

Unlike other memoirs that I have read, this wasn’t in chronological order in the sense that it starts from birth and goes on to whenever the book was written, instead, Bossypants is set out like a series of essays with various anecdotes from Tina’s life thrown in, for instance, her nightmare of a honeymoon on a cruise ship and her time spent at summer camp and how photoshoots actually are. The writing style was great, it read very much like you were just having lunch with the woman herself while she was telling you all these different stories of things that had happened to her.

Like I mention in my bake off posts, I do a lot of reading while I am cooking food, generally when I’m making my dinner, I will sit down with a book I had to stop doing this with this book because I found that I was chortling so much I was disturbing people in the other room. I also couldn’t stay up reading into the night with this for the same reason, it was just too darn funny in places. of course, nothing is ever perfect and there were moments in this when Tina’s self deprecating tone got a bit too much, I just wanted to fly to New York, grab her and scream, but you’re so awesome! that said, being someone who has moments of insecurity, I love it when someone observes that they have a flaw and then just owns it. I think that is great and very inspirational and its something that Tina does with finesse in this book. There were parts that made my inner feminist very happy too. having said that, there was one moment, in the section about her father that came across as being a little bit racist for my liking, although maybe I just interpreted it that way and it was a comment lost in translation with the fact that I live in England and our culture is very different. Either way, I had a bit of a wait… What? Moment.

waitwhat

Despite that, I thoroughly enjoyed reading this and I’m really looking forward to getting back into biographies. I have both Ellen Degeneres and Portia De Rossi’s books to read and a collection of Tony Benn’s diaries that I might get cracking into now that I’ve rediscovered my love for them.

One thought on “Bossypants

  1. Pingback: Things what I read (July) – The Perks of Being a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

