Great Bookish Bake off – Lemon and white chocolate cup cakes

bookishbakeoff

The cakes I bake and the books I read whilst baking them.

20130707-142837.jpg

These were a bit of an experiment that turned out rather well so I thought I’d tell you all about them!
So, my last couple of baking posts have been about rhubarb related things, we’re still being given mountains of the stuff by my grandad, so I was yet again making a rhubarb and custard cake when I thought to myself, hang on, I don’t like rhubarb, where’s my cake? So I ended up making these too.

Things you will need:
Scales
MIxer
Bowl
100g self raising flour
100g sugar
100g butter
1 egg
1 jar of lemon curd
half a bag of white chocolate buttons
Cup cake cases
And the book of your choice. I was finishing off The Book of Secrets which I will have reviewed before this gets posted.

I say this was an experiment, mostly because I didn’t actually know what would happen if I put lemon curd into cake mix. Because I was making a rhubarb cake at the same time, I made cake mix as usual and then split it between two bowls (hence why this has 100g of everything in, the overall mixture had twice the amount). In the one bowl I added the rest of the ingredients for the rhubarb and in the other, several spoonfuls of lemon curd and half a bag of white chocolate buttons which I then folded into the mixture and spooned into cake cases.

These went into the oven for 30 minutes during which time I finished The Book of Secrets and started putting my thoughts into a coherent order for the review.

I was going to ice these with some sort of lemony icing but, they turned out to be rather zesty without, the white chocolate and the lemon work actually quite well and you can really taste the lemon in the sponge! I’m going to keep on experimenting with things like this because seriously, I think I may have invented a whole new use for lemon curd.

One thought on “Great Bookish Bake off – Lemon and white chocolate cup cakes

Leave a Reply

