Things what I read (July)

Here’s my monthly round up of things that I’ve read this month, and as it’s the last day of July I thought I’d post it today!

secrets1The Book of Secrets – Elizabeth Joy Arnold
This featured on last month’s list, I know, it might be cheating a bit but I started it at the end of June and finished it at the beginning of July so I’m including it anywway! Plus, I reviewed it here

billyBilly and Me – Giovanna Fletcher.
Not bad for a debut but as you’ll see in my review there were a few little things that irked me about it. The more I think about it, the more they annoys me! Genuinely lovely romance for the summer holiday season though so do check it out if you can.

liarsPretty Little Liars – Sara Sheppard.
I’m a huge fan of the tv show, so I had to get this, it’s been sat on my kindle for a while and it finally got read. I’ll be honest, the tv show is loads better. This is such a good story and it’s just not told particularly well.

bossy Bossypants – Tina Fey.
Genuinely the funniest thing that I have read in a long time. I quite like biographies, but I don’t read a lot of them, because you know, name dropping aint cool, this however was a series of anecdotes told in such a Liz Lemon way that I had to stop reading it at certain points because I was certain I’d stop breathing. I reviewed it here.

runawayThe Bane Chronicles 2: The Runaway Queen – Cassandra Clare and Maureen Johnson.
Much better than the first one, but still not nearly as good as it could be… I am a little concerned that this whole Bane Chronicles series is just going to end up being Cassandra Clare writing fan fiction of her own books

rulesRules for Hearts – Sara Ryan.
Definitely an improvement on Empress of the World, I hated Battle in that book but I actually quite liked her in this one, it was more of a family drama than a book about Battle being into girls which I liked. 

edmundThe Bane Chronicles 3: Vampires, Scones and Edmund Herondale – Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan
Some pretty shocking typos in this – like seriously, you guys couldn’t have sorted that out before putting it up for sale in the kindle store, for ages I was trying to work out what things like noindentlourish meant (basically the letters fl were replaced with noindent through out the whole thing.) On the plus side though, Edmund Herondale was an awesome character.

booky2My Booky Wook 2 – this time it’s personal – Russell Brand
Its got loads of mentions of Katy and how in love he was it made me so sad! Was a funny read though despite that! I reviewed it here.

elixier Elixir – Hilary Duff
How is it that I have only just discovered that Hilary Duff wrote a series of YA books?! I’m half way through this at the moment and honestly, it’s like one big ball of wtf… I might do a review of it at some point because I just can’t quite get my head around it!

I almost managed a whole month only reading female authors! That was completely accidental but rather enjoyable nonetheless!

Leave a Reply

