Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares.

dashlily1

Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares – David Levithan and Rachel Cohn.

i cant even
These two are perfection in a partnership. I adore collaborations between these two, seriously, I want them to write together all the time. I have enjoyed every single one of their collabs so far and this was no exception.

I should preface this review by saying that this is a book set at Christmas and I read it in the middle of August, which was obviously not the right time of year for cheer and miracles but it was still so full of charm and magic that the fact that I read it in the summer didn’t matter one iota.

“I’ve left some clues for you.
If you want them, turn the page.
If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”
So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the bestselling authors ofNick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?

This book you guys. This book.
I just need a minute, I can’t deal with the cute.
This is exactly how I want any and all future romances to start. In a book shop. With a red moleskin notebook and a pretentious, well read, sarcastic guy. Seriously, Dash might have just and just knocked Augustus Waters off of the top spot for awesome book characters that I want to date.

This book was cute, it was funny, it was endearing, it was magical, it was the perfect romantic comedy with perfect smart ass teenagers and their shenanigans around New York city as they communicated through friends and notebooks in a bid to get to know each other. Future suitors take note, this is the bar to which I will judge you. Be warned.

I don’t really know how to word a review for this in any sort of logical fashion so I’m going to keep it brief, just know that I adored it, it was, as is typical for something that comes from David Levithan, filled with poignant, well thought out and completely relateable quotes that I would love to show you all but I’d probably be done for illegally reproducing the book or something.

Here’s the Nick Fury seal of approval just to really cement home the fact that this book is a bowl of amazeballs with lashings of awesome sauce on top.
photo

3 thoughts on “Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares.

  1. Pingback: Things what I read (August) – The Perks of Being a Bookworm

  2. Pingback: End of the year book survey – The Perks of Being a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

