My Top 5…

… Movie Adaptations.
Oh look, I’m picking up that whole top 5 thing again. Because I went to see Kick Ass 2,(funny but not as good as the first one) The Mortal Instruments (alright but could have been better. Mainly in regards to Magnus, Simon was perfect as per usual) and Percy Jackson Sea of Monsters (actually pretty good) within the space of a week, I thought I’d talk about book to movie adaptations, because if there is one thing I love more than reading, it’s watching films. And yes, Kick Ass 2 counts as a book adaptation. Graphic Novels are books after all. There are a lot of book adaptations out there, some of them are awful in comparison to the original material (the Harry Potter series, The Golden Compass), some of them have pretty questionable source material to start with (Twilight), some are amazingly better than the original books (Mean Girls, Woman in Black, Angus Thongs and Perfect Snogging), some are too obvious (Pride and Prejudice). Here’s a list of book to movie adaptations that I really love.

#5 Submarine (book by Joe Dunthorne, film by Richard Ayeoade starring Craig Roberts, Paddy Considine.)


I hated the book. Like, really did. The main character was so whiney and unlikeable it really got to me, even though the manuscript had some beautiful examples of prose, I just couldn’t get over how much I hated Oliver. Then I watched the film and I loved it. It was quirky and Oliver was much more endearing on screen. I have the same issue with Angus Thongs and Perfect Snogging. Book Georgia is the most annoying person ever, film Georgia is just a teenager who’s a little self centred.

#4 Never Let Me Go (book by Kazuo Ishiguro, film by Mark Romanek, starring Carey Mulligan, Andrew Garfield, Keira Knightly.)


I am of the opinion that when it comes to Never Let me Go, the book and the film work together in perfect harmony. The film helps the realisation of what is going on and the book gives the emotional depth. I watched the film days after I finished the book and I thought that they worked amazingly well as companion pieces.

#3 The Hunger Games (book by Suzanne Collins, film by Gary Ross, starring Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutchinson, Liam Hemsworth)


I quite loved the film version of the Hunger Games, some things that I loved about it got left out which was kind of annoying, but the stuff that was added in with the Games Makers gave it a much more creepy and dystopian feel. I think I’m listing this here because I was so worried about what they were going to do with the series and I was pleasantly surprised.

#2 The Lord of The Rings (book by JRR Tolkien, film by Peter Jackson, starring Elijah Wood, Sir Ian McKellen, Christopher Lee et all)


Peter Jackson made an amazing trilogy. There is nothing about the Lord of the Rings films that I do not love. Enough said. The Hobbit on the other hand…

#1 The Princess Bride (book by William Goldman, film by Rob Reiner, starring Cary Elwes, Mandy Patinkin, Robin Wright)


The Princess Bride is exactly as it is on paper as it is on screen. It is perfection as adaptations go, there isn’t a single thing added or removed. And I love it. If you haven’t seen or read The Princess Bride then you NEED to IMMEDIATELY. The fact that you haven’t is inconceivable, and I’m pretty sure that the ROUS’s will come and eat you if you don’t have it in your life.

So, those are my favourite book to film adaptations, other honourable mentions should go to The Wonderboys because it has fantastic casting (if you’ve ever wanted to see Iron Man and Spider Man get it on, it is your film.), Scott Pilgrim versus the world, Fantastic Mr Fox was also quite fantastic and of course, Less Than Zero, I HATED that book like, with an incalculable passion, but the film, the film I really enjoyed. I have to quit now while I’m ahead because now I’m thinking about it I have a list as long as my arm. Anyone agree, disagree, think of more that are pretty awesome?

Leave a Reply

