Things what I read (August)

wwz

World War Z – Max Brooks.
Not what I was expecting at all, and now I simply have to see the film to see how they could have possibly made a film out of it in the first place. Very different to anything I’ve read this year in the sense of its style, quite liked it but I can see why other people wouldn’t.

popprincessPop Princess – Rachel Cohn.
I was a tad disappointed with this, I have loved the Cohn/Levithan collabs that I’ve read but this was just not up to par. Having said that, it did get better as the book went on and there was some very funny references to Paul Weller who is a particular favourite musician of mine.

lola1Lola and the boy next door – Stephanie Perkins.
One of my holiday reads, fairly enjoyable but I didn’t like Lola as much as I liked Anna which was a shame. I did review it though and you can read that here!

nwNW – Zadie Smith. 
This was my first experience with Zadie Smith and I’m so disappointed, NW was my second holiday read because it’s about a girl called Leah who lives in the NW postcode which is where I was, the whole thing was very confusing, especially with the way the dialogue was set out so I can’t say as I particularly enjoyed it. Kathy over at Books on the tube did a rather splendid post about the importance of dialogue which someone should probably show to NW’s editor.

dashlily2Dash and Lily’s book of dares – Rachel Cohn, David Levithan.
This pairing is perfect, having read all their collaborations now I just want them to write together always and forever. I know that this is technically a Christmas book, but I do what I want. Review here.

ketchupKetchup Clouds – Annabel Pitcher.
This cover is beautiful, it even has little red marks on the edges of the pages,so that when the book is closed they make up the images of birds. Very pretty. I wanted to review this but I couldn’t think of anyway that I could without spoiling the entire thing. I want to give it the Nick Fury Seal of Approval… So you know how good it was!

ellebSeriously, I’m kidding – Ellen Degeneres.
I’ve got to be honest, I was kind of disappointed with this, I think I got it confused with one of her other books, I was expecting her autobiography, talking about her life and how she became as awesome as she is, instead this book was very similar to Tina Fey’s book. It was very funny but it wasn’t what I expected.

ashesCity of Ashes – Cassandra Clare.
I saw City of Bones at the cinema. I don’t really know how I feel about it, but then I decided I HAD to re read the entire series, thankfully for you guys, that notion didn’t last long enough to make it onto this blog to bore all of you.

spoflafs Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight – Jennifer E Smith.
After reading City of Ashes, I watched Percy Jackson and decided I was going to read ALL THE THINGS, only then I ended up going through my kindle looking for all the PJ books only to find this and think, that’ll do! It was very cute but also very mediocre and I don’t think the beautiful cover quite matches up to the story inside.

smokeDaughter of Smoke and Bone – Laini Taylor.
So… I still haven’t gotten around to reading all of the Percy Jackson… But, I keep seeing this in the chart at Tesco and a friend of mine recommended it so I thought I’d just go ahead and start this, August is now over and I’m not completely finished, so this might also appear on September…. And there might be a review.

And that’s everything that I’ve read this month! If you have a kindle/ipad and fancy some free things to fill it up with, why not download some of these? (Oh look, Leah’s trying to sell us stuff again).

20130901-134942.jpg

Leave a Reply

