Daughter of smoke and bone.

Once upon a time, an angel and a devil fell in love. It didn’t end well.

It really didn’t.

smokeandbone

I don’t even know where to start.
Here’s the blurb while I try and get my thoughts to be a little more coherent.

Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.
In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grown dangerously low.
And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.
Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”, she speaks many languages – not all of them human – and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.
When beautiful, haunted Akiva fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

I know, it does’t sound like the sort of thing that is going to be amazing, but it is, I don’t know how, but it’s good. Like, really good. It’s clear from the first page that Laini Taylor has a way with words, the whole thing is a well balanced act between witty teenage dialogue and beautiful descriptions. The setting is incredible, I have long been intrigued with Prague and it’s history, now I feel like I’ve actually been there. Like most paranormal romances, (yes, it’s a paranormal romance) there are moments in the story where this happens:
exasperated

But it’s so intricately worded that even those elements of the story don’t bother you too much.
This is one of those stories that lulls you into a false sense of security, the minute you think you know what’s going on, everything gets thrown up in the air and leads you on a completely separate path, when this book began, I was sure this was about a human girl who ends up meeting and falling for some paranormal being. Man, was I in for a shock when the human girl turns out to have been raised by devil type things and spends her life going on strange errands for them. Like I said, everything you think you know about this book, is wrong. I’ll be honest, I was not expecting the eventual ending of this and that my friends, is the sign of good story telling.

I was recommended this MONTHS ago by my friend, Annie. And I’d been eyeing it up since she mentioned it but had never gotten around to actually reading it until recently, I should have listened to her and grabbed it sooner. I actually feel bereft that I haven’t had this in my life sooner.

If you’re looking for something dark, deadly, unique, captivating and unexpected this is the book for you. I need the sequel in my life like now.

photo

It gets the Nick Fury Seal of Approval.

Leave a Reply

