Great Bookish Bakeoff – Cookie Dough Cup Cakes

bookishbakeoff

The cakes I bake and the books I read while baking them. 

20130917-203323.jpg

I found out on Tuesday, that this week is National Cup Cake Week. So of course, I had to make cupcakes! I plan to make a few more later this week because the office tradition is that when you’re having a birthday, you supply the cake. And well, I’m having a birthday so…

Anyway, cookie dough cupcakes. Let’s do this.
You will need:
Scales,
Mixer
Bowl
Wooden Spoon
For the sponge:
175g self raising flour
175g sugar
175g butter
2 eggs
For the cookie dough:
150g chocolate chips
125g flour
100g brown sugar
140g butter
For the icing:
100g icing sugar
15ml water
And the book of your choice. I was just finishing off Hero by Perry Moore. Which I might review, depending on whether it gets good enough for me to have an opinion on it.

So, first things first, the cake batter. Measure everything out and stick in your mixer, while it’s mixing, you can wash up your scales and measure out what you need for your dough. I did the dough by hand (so it wouldn’t turn into cake mix) using a wooden spoon and then my hands when it got too stiff to stir anymore. I stuck the dough in the fridge for a bit while I spooned cake mix into cake cases  and then broke off bits of dough, rolled it into a small ball and pushed it into the cake mix, making sure to cover it over.
They went in the oven for 35mins while I tried to finish Hero, which is a book that I reeeeeeeally want to like, but don’t quite yet. Which is a shame considering I’m really near to the end.

Once the cakes are done, I let them cool for a bit before doing the icing. I had wanted to do butter cream, but I didn’t have any butter left, just spread so I went for glaze instead which isn’t my favourite of topping choices, mainly because I’m not very artistic and it’s a bit difficult to get it to spread over the cakes properly. But you know, once I’d managed to dollop a bit of icing over the top and garnished with a mini cookie from the biscuit tin, I think they look alright!
Hopefully everyone else will agree!

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

Oh… Also, I’m trying this new thing where I’m gonna stick social media icons at the bottom of my posts from now on… Does it work or does it look silly?

Leave a Reply

