Eleanor and Park

ep

Eleanor and Park – Rainbow Rowell

If The Miseducation of Cameron Post is the book that I want to marry and raise a family of little books with, then Eleanor and Park is the bookish equivelant of the best friend that you have amazing chemistry with, but because of the spouse, you never act on that amazing chemistry.

ALLTHESEFEELS

I read Rainbow Rowell’s Attachments earlier in the year and I didn’t much care for it. It was alright, but it didn’t exactly blow me away. It put me in mind of a quote from 10 Things I Hate About You, “I know that you can be overwhelmed and you can be underwhelmed, but can you ever just be whelmed?”
Yeah, Attachments left me just whelmed. Eleanor and Park on the other hand, it blew me away! Seriously, I dream of falling in love on the bus over comics and The Smiths. This is the best thing ever!

Set over the course of one school year in 1986, ELEANOR AND PARK is the story of two star-crossed misfits – smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try. When Eleanor meets Park, you’ll remember your own first love – and just how hard it pulled you under.

This book was so cute. So unbelievably cute. It did everything right, it had a slow burning, build up of a romance, it had flawed characters that romanced each other despite their flaws. It had moments that left me a bit like Davy T here:

I'm in a glass case of emotion

Above all else, it had HANDS DOWN, the hottest hand holding scene EVER. JESUS H CHRIST TAKE THE WHEEL. It made me think of this quote from Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist: “

You know the reason The Beatles made it so big?…’I Wanna Hold Your Hand.’ First single. Fucking brilliant. Perhaps the most fucking brilliant song ever written. Because they nailed it. That’s what everyone wants. Not 24/7 hot wet sex. Not a marriage that lasts a hundred years. Not a Porsche…or a million-dollar crib. No. They wanna hold your hand. They have such a feeling that they can’t hide. Every single successful song of the past fifty years can be traced back to ‘I Wanna Hold Your Hand.’ And every single successful love story has those unbearable and unbearably exciting moments of hand-holding.”

That hand holding scene was made for this quote.
I wanted to do a #LoveThisQuote, but I ended up liking so many moments that I would have probably ended up being done for plagerism. The entire Star Wars passage made my heart go weee, like super weee.

The ending was bitter sweet, as all great romances tend to be, and as much as it made me go NOOOOOO! At the time, it was kind of perfect actually and I don’t think it possibly could have ended any other way. Read it, it’s one of those books that’ll make you laugh, make you cry and change your life.
It even gets the Nick Fury Seal of Approval.

photo

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

4 thoughts on “Eleanor and Park

  1. This sounds like such a sweet book! I’ve heard of Rainbow Rowell but I’ve never read any of her works. I was thinking of picking up Attachments but after reading this review I might jump straight onto Eleanor and Park! Great review Leah 🙂

    • Thank you! I hope you enjoy Eleanor and Park just as much as I did! Attachments is alright, I think I just wasn’t in the right frame of mind for it, but that’s good too! I can’t wait to read Fangirl!

  2. Pingback: Things what I read in September – The Perks of Being a Bookworm

  3. Pingback: End of the year book survey – The Perks of Being a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

