Great Bookish Bakeoff – Lemon Meringue Cup Cakes

bookishbakeoff

The cakes I bake and the books I read whilst making them. 

Retro post time! Well, sort of! I made some of these the other day to take to work for my birthday, but the first time I made them turned out better, so I’ve used that picture! Because I am a massive cheater!

20130516-210901.jpg

Things you will need: 
Measuring equipment, something to mix it all with. (I used a food blender and an electric whisk, because I am very lazy.)
For the cakes:
175g self raising flour
175g sugar
175g butter
2 eggs
For the meringue:
4 eggs (you only need the whites)
115g caster sugar
115g icing sugar
A tin of lemon curd
And a book of your choice. I was reading City of Bones the first time I made these, Clary and co and just arrived at Magnus Bane’s party and I noticed that there was no Lemon Meringue Pie – Magnus seems like a meringue fan to me. Of course this deduction led me to then want some meringue myself, though I wasn’t in a position to be making pastry – I didn’t want to risk blind baking and I couldn’t find a rolling pin so I settled on meringue cup cakes instead. The second time I made these I was reading Eleanor and Park which I reviewed the other day.

So, all the cake ingredients in a blender and then into cake cases in the oven at 180 degrees for forty minutes. Then came the time to let them cool, where I started on the meringue. Getting the egg whites was a fairly messy business, I cracked individual eggs and tipped the yolk between the two halves of the shell until all the whites were in the mixer and only the yolks were left behind. I actually used an electric whisk rather than a blender. Whilst whisking the egg whites, I started pouring in the sugar bit by bit until it started to thicken and I was able to make stiff peaks (which sounds very rude) with the whisk. Using some tin foil on a baking tray, the meringue mixture got heaped liberally onto the baking tray and stuck in the oven, 180 degrees for thirty minutes.

After the meringue was done, I left it on the side for a bit so it could set a little, it wasn’t as crunchy as I’d have liked, though I’m told that it gets crispier the longer it’s left. mine had a more marshmallow like consistency but it was still a bit good. It took a bit of time to get them off the foil and onto the cakes but, for a first try it was ok! Before the meringue tops went on, I dolloped some lemon curd onto the cake bases and used it to stick on the meringue. They certainly went down very well with everyone else, and cake always makes a book better.
The second time I made these, I used lemon desert sauce mixed with an extra jiff lemon instead of lemon curd. I also left my meringue in the oven too long because I was faffing about with ios7, so they didn’t look quite as good, but they tasted ok… Well, no one from work has died so I’m assuming they were fine!

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

One thought on “Great Bookish Bakeoff – Lemon Meringue Cup Cakes

  1. They look awesome, I love LMP but I never make the pastry because making dough leaves me in a state of rage that I find it hard to recover from in time to enjoy my sweet baked goods. Cupcake sounds like an excellent alternative.

Leave a Reply

