My Top 5….

Annoying characters.
It’s weird to have a top five annoying characters, but that’s what today’s top 5 is going to be.
This whole top 5 thing is kind of a sporadic feature I do now and again.

5# Jace Wayland/ Herondale/Morgernstern/Lightwood/ Whatever the hell his name is. (The Mortal Instruments series – Cassandra Clare)
the-mortal-instruments-covers

Jace is easily the most frustrating character out of the whole frustrating series. Every single time I find myself reading them and just being like WHY JACE?! Why are you stupid enough to stay next to that demon infected body all on your own? Why are you lying to Clary? Why are you deemed to be better than Simon? And why are you doing this whole tortured soul thing. It’s annoying. Although, obviously not enough to make me stop reading the books.

#4 Oliver Tate (Submarine – Joe Dunthorne)
tumblr_lpvxfsH4gP1qa0nq8

Submarine is one of those books of which I prefer the film version. I know sacrilegious  Anyway, one of the reasons why I disliked the book so much was because I hated the main character. Oliver is so full of first world problems, all he does is moan and whine and get ridiculous over the tiniest thing. It’s annoying.

#3 Catherine Earnshaw (Wuthering Heights – Charlotte Bronte)

tumblr_lohwhaxTe81qa0nq8

In fact, Heathcliffe deserves to be on this list too. He and Cathy deserved each other. They were horrible, I hate when people say that it’s an unbelievably romantic book, maybe that’s because I don’t think revenge and emotional blackmail have any place in a romance. But that’s just me. Cathy was vindictive and spoilt and just eurgh. I’m glad she was miserable.

#2 Bella Swan (Twilight Saga – Stephanie Meyer)

twilightsaga
Bella was so very closely tipped to the top spot, but to be honest, pretty much every character in the Twilight saga (except Charlie and maybe Carlisle) should be on this list. Bella Swan sets feminism back about twenty years. The fact that she is whiney is the least of my problems with her, I have so many issues with her screwed up version of what she thinks love is this could take forever. There is a big deal made of the fact that Wuthering Heights is her favourite book. I think I know why, it’s because her relationship with Edward is just as dangerous.

#1 Ana Steele (Fifty Shades Trilogy – E L James)

FIFTY+SHADES+TRILOGY
The only person who could possibly have knocked Bella Swan off the top spot had to be the fan fiction turned best seller version of Bella. Ana is every bit as annoying as Bella, even more so considering Bella is only supposed to be about seventeen when the books begin where as Ana is a twenty one year old university student. Just seriously, guuurl, you need to sort yo’self out. Anyone who is stupid enough to enter into a contractual relationship with a creepy guy that they barely know and to keep going back to him even after he continually makes you miserable, manipulates you and gets you drunk so that you’ll have sex with him is not the sort of man you should keep in your life. Also, the fact that you do nothing but talk to your inner goddess about how much Christian irritates you/ loves you is more than enough reason to hate you til the end of time.

And so, there you have it. My top five hated characters, if that makes sense? I’d love to know if people agree/ disagree and why!

3 thoughts on “My Top 5….

  1. I definitely agree with you on the Cathy/Heathcliffe and Bella Swan choices. My god are they irritating!

    And I’m going to add Holden Caulfield from The Catcher In The Rye to the list as well because he is just unbelievably annoying. And whilst I’m at it I’ll add Jay Gatsby and Daisy Buchanan from The Great Gatsby because they make me want to tear my hair out!

  2. Gatsby and Daisy YES YES YES. They deserve each other. I’ll have to disagree with Holden though, I have a special place in my heart for Holden Caulfield even if he is a judgemental douchebag!

  3. I totally agree with Jace! I’ve only read the first three books so far but his brooding made it pretty hard. In fact, Clary annoyed me too but mainly because of how she behaved because of Jace!

Leave a Reply

