Great Bookish Bakeoff – Apple and Ginger Cake.

bookishbakeoff

The cakes I bake and the books I read while baking them. 

20130927-194910.jpg

Guys, I’m losing my baking prowess.
See, the first time I made Carrot Cake, I couldn’t get over how good it tasted and how much everyone complimented it. The second one I made tasted exactly like bread pudding. I’m not complaining because I bloody love bread pudding, but you know, I wanted to make a carrot cake. Recently, it seems, that if I make a sponge and put fruit in it, instead of getting fruit cake I get bread pudding. I am accidentally making bread pudding and I have no idea how. Anyway, we held a Macmillan coffee morning at work a couple of weeks ago, so we all had to make cake, I decided to do an apple and ginger cake, guess what? It tasted like bread pudding. Here’s the recipe in case you decide that you want to have a go and make actual cake.

Things you will need:
175g self raising flour
175g sugar
175g butter
2 large apples, sliced
a sprinkle of cinnimon
2 tbs of ground ginger
2 eggs
1 handful of raisins.
A copy of Stardust by Neil Gaiman. (This bit is optional)

Because I’m very lazy, I stick everything into the blender at the same time and just whizz together until I get cake mix. While it’s whizzing, chop up the apples into slices, as you can tell from the picture, I’m not very good at chopping apples, I blame this on the fact that I am ambidexterous and always use my left hand for chopping and slicing when I was taught to do so with my right… Everything is always a little messy when doing things like that. Pour that mixture into a greased cake tin, arrange the apples over the top, sprinkle some sugar over them and put it in the oven for 30-40 minutes on 180 degrees while you get comfy and read about Wall and Tristian’s adventures beyond it.

Like I said, this came out tasting like bread pudding but that wasn’t necessarily a bad thing, we still managed to raise over £130 for cancer research so it wasn’t all bad! I’d love to know if you guys actually get something that tastes of sponge out of it though!

4 thoughts on “Great Bookish Bakeoff – Apple and Ginger Cake.

  1. What I wouldn’t give for a blender… Having said that I got an electric whisk for my birthday and it has revolutionised the cake making process. Which is important because my housemate and I are very competitive when it comes to baking. We had our own bake-off on Sunday in honour of our other housemate’s birthday (she won but only because she played to her audience and made chocolate, mine was pronounced the better bake).

    Well done on all your money-raising, great work!

    • Thank you! It was a joint effort, literally everyone in the building made a cake, there was so much of it!
      Your inter house back offs sound awesome! Makes me wish for baking house mates! I had an electric whisk but my brother broke it trying to make a milk shake, so the blender it is from now on. It’s very easy but it makes me feel lazy when I think of how much hard work everyone else puts into their cakes! The blender isn’t perfect either, judging by how bread puddingy this cake became!

      • That’s very impressive! We had one at work a few weeks ago but I only bought cakes, I didn’t have time to contribute more than my money.

        We do enjoy our bake-offs but it can get a bit too competitive. I accidentally out the butter in the fridge last week and I genuinely thought my housemate might kill me! I would be so mad if someone broke my whisk, it’s my favourite piece of kitchen equipment. I wouldn’t feel guilty, just be glad that you don’t get blisters every time you need to cream butter and sugar – I love that part now I don’t have to use a spoon anymore!! Bread pudding is certainly not a good result for a cake though 😦

Leave a Reply

