Confessions of a boy crazy girl

boycrazy

Confessions of a Boy-Crazy Girl: On her Journey from Neediness to Freedom – Paula Hendricks.

I got caught by the pretty cover.
This was an ARC I received from netgalley, and honestly, judging by the cover and the blurb, I thought this would be one of those easy to read, chirpy YA books about a Bridget Jones type who just happens to be poly amorous. Boy, was I wrong.

Here’s the blurb.
Sound familiar?
 1. You spot a cute boy (we’ll call him Boy A).
2. You dream about Boy A.
3. You do whatever it takes to make Boy A notice you.
4. Even though Boy A doesn’t pursue you, you hang on to your dream of Boy A until he (a) moves to the North Pole with no access to a cell phone or computer, (b) dies and is buried or cremated, or (c) begins dating another girl.
5. You mend your broken heart by hating Boy A and finding another cute boy (Boy B). You replace Boy A with Boy B and begin all over again . . .  
 Paula has gone through an entire alphabet-and more-of boys over the years.
As she shares her journal entries and stories-the good, the bad, and the ugly-you’ll be encouraged to trust God with your love life and buckle up for the ride!
Written for teen girls, Confessions of a Boy-Crazy Girl will help you on your own journey from neediness to freedom. 

You can kinda see where I got the, I think this is a YA thing from can’t you?

This book is not a YA book about a girl who fancies a load of boys and has fun and hijinx when talking about them. This is a non fiction book, it’s a memoir of actual Paula’s High School life about the boys she crushed on, the ones she dated and how those things made her feel about her faith, because Paula is a very religious person.
I don’t want to bash this book because it wasn’t what I thought it was and I don’t want to knock Paula or her faith but even after I realised that this wasn’t what I thought it was and decided to read it anyway, I still couldn’t get into it. There are moments that are genuinely endearing but for the most part the writing style is very simplistic, it’s almost text book like in quality, this is essentially a how to date in high school if you are a strict Christian with slight daddy issues. Not being religious myself, I found the every other sentence mention of Jesus was a bit much and some of the things being said made me feel a little uncomfortable, especially when Paula talks about how experimenting with boys is ok but then in the next section of the book uses the word whore to describe girls that have sex in high school.
It’s all very well teaching girls that they don’t need a man and they should date and such like because they enjoy it, but you can’t say that and then start throwing the W word around. Also, from reading this, I don’t think Paula’s problem was anything to do with the fact that she was lusting after boys, but more to do with her relationship with her dad. This book had daddy issues written all over it.

Honestly, all I can say is, if like me, you don’t follow a religion, but the idea of it doesn’t offend you, it probably wouldn’t hurt to give this a go, just be warned that the cover and blurb are very misleading, its short and easily digested if you wanted a quick read.  If you are the sort of person that can’t deal with any sort of religion, you should stay well away from it. This book has incredibly religious over tones, it contains actual scripture and relates every little hard break or temptation back to God and his work. Which is fine, don’t get me wrong, just because I don’t believe doesn’t make it wrong, but I think I would have preferred if this had a more journalistic tone to it, as a teenage girl, I didn’t find myself lusting after anyone particularly (apart from Tom from Mcfly. I lusted after him) but I think had I had this book to go to, I would have found it much more interesting and helpful if it were informative, if it held people’s experiences in how to deal with having a crush on someone unobtainable in a way that didn’t involve looking to a deity for guidance.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

2 thoughts on “Confessions of a boy crazy girl

  1. Pingback: Things what I read in October – The Perks of Being a Bookworm

  2. Pingback: Things what I read in October. – The Perks of Being a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

