Great Bookish Bakeoff – Tinker Cake

bookishbakeoff

The cakes I bake and the books I read while baking them. 

20131010-213556.jpg

What, I hear you ask is a Tinker Cake? The answer to that question is simply, this: I have no idea.
I was given this recipe by my mum, who works in an office where people bring in cakes all the time. This is apparently a Welsh recipe and well, I had a new cake tin I wanted to try out. This is a very bizarre cake, the way it’s made isn’t dissimilar to pastry, so it was peculiar to expect a cake as the end result. It tastes pretty good though, although next time I may go a bit over board with the cinnamon because it did need an extra kick.

Things you will need:
Scales
A bowl
A jug
200g self raising flour
60g butter
60g sugar
60 ml milk
3 large apples
A sprinkle of lemon juice
Cinnamon. Lots of cinnamon. However much you think you might need, double, no treble that amount. You will need A LOT.
A loaf tin.
The book of your choice. I went with an ARC I’ve had sitting on my kindle for a while called Confessions of a Boy Crazy Teen. Which, judging by how it’s going at the moment, I will have probably have reviewed before I get around to posting this.

Grease your loaf tin and set to one side, then measure out your flour and butter into a bowl and rub together like you were making crumble or pastry until you end up with slightly bread crumby, yellow flour. Peel and core your apples, chop two of them into small pieces and chuck them, the sugar, the cinnamon and the lemon juice into your buttery flour mix and give it a stir. Into that pour the milk and then stir it until you get a strange, thick doughy concoction. Once it looks suitably strange and is getting hard to mix, transfer it into you pre greased tin and thinly slice your remaining apple to layer over the top of the mixture. Put it in the oven on 180 degrees for an hour. Ample reading time.

This was when I discovered that I really couldn’t get into the ARC I was reading. The book was so short though, by the time the hour swung by, I was on 70% so not bad going.
It doesn’t really matter if you push a knife through this cake or not, it’s going to be slightly sticky and gooey inside – this, I’m told, is a good thing. After an hour, it’s going to look brown on the top and that’s all you really need.
Serve it warm with ice cream for a soft, chewy, crumbly tasting desert.
Or just eat it cold. It has a sort of porridgy texture when eaten cold, but warm it’s a proper treat and I think it’s kind of perfect for the cold autumnal nights we’ll be facing soon.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

One thought on “Great Bookish Bakeoff – Tinker Cake

  1. Pingback: Great Bookish Bakeoff – Caramel Apple Loaf | The Perks of Being a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

