Great Bookish Bakeoff – Caramel Cup Cakes

bookishbakeoff

The cakes I bake and the books I read while baking them.

20131020-161113.jpg

These tasted all kinds of good. I used a different recipe for the sponge than usual, although they tasted pretty good, they did leave a bit of an oily after taste, but I guess baking is all trial and error so I’ll know better for next time!

Things you will need:
Scales,
Mixer,
175g self raising flour
2 eggs
175g sugar
125 ml vegetable Oil
Caramel flavouring
200g Icing sugar
100g Butter
Cake cases.
Sprinkles and the book of your choice. I was reading Stephan Kings, the Shining, at the time.

So, first things first, measure out your dry ingredients, stick them in a bowl and then add your wet ones, this includes a bit of caramel flavouring. Stir all that together until you get something that slightly resembles cake mix. It won’t look quite the same as you’re used to, especially if you, like me, are used to using butter in your batter. I’ve been told that oil makes for a moister cake, so I thought I would give it a go, the sponge came out divine, it had a really smooth texture! It was pretty awesome!

Divide that between your cake cases and bake for about half an hour, or until your knife comes out clean. You can use that time wisely, by reading a book. Like I said, I was reading the Shining at the time. It’s not really a baking kind of story, what with mouldy women, partying ghosts and a terrifying addict of a character but it’s exactly the sort of engrossing read which will make that half an hour fly by.
The best thing about making cakes you intend to decorate is the fact that you can return to your novel while they’re cooling. I did try to find my inner Danny Torrence to see if I could tell how they would taste, it didn’t work. Alas, I do not have the shining.
For the icing, I mixed the butter and the sugar with more caramel flavouring and because I absolutely suck at making cakes look pretty, I just sort of dolloped and spread it around before chucking on the chocolate sprinkles. They tasted pretty good though, even if the icing was a little over powering with the caramel flavouring, I could have probably done with a little less of it!
As much as I liked the sponge with oil instead of butter, I don’t know if I’ll make it with oil again for a while, I’m kind of a stickler for doing what I know works, but it certainly made a nice change!

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

One thought on “Great Bookish Bakeoff – Caramel Cup Cakes

Leave a Reply

