I am the messenger

messenger2

I am the messenger – Markus Zusak

Within the first few pages of reading this, I had two reactions. The first was akin to this:
i cant even

The other was to remember this quote from The Fault in Our Stars:
“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.”

Welcome to post three of my Six Week Challenge in which I am going to review every book that I read for the next six weeks. I’m hoping this challenge is going to make me more selective about the things that I’m reading. Luckily, the things I’ve chosen so far have been pretty good and this, woah. This.
On a scale of one to the best thing you have ever thought of, this far surpasses it.

Meet Ed Kennedy – underage cab driver, pathetic card player, and useless at romance. He lives in a shack, and he’s hopelessly in love with his best friend, Audrey. His life is one of peaceful routine and incompetence, until he inadvertently stops a bank robbery. That’s when the first Ace arrives…That’s when Ed becomes the messenger.
Chosen to care, he makes his way through town helping and hurting (when necessary), until only one question remains. Who’s behind Ed’s mission?

I read the Book Thief last summer and totally fell in love with reading again, up until that point, I’d been dipping in and out of fiction and not really finding anything that engaged me in quite the way that The Book Thief did. If you’ve not experienced the pure amazingness that is The Book Thief, you really need to get on that. It’s incredible. It was one of those stories that I couldn’t leave, but never wanted to finish, because I knew that once it ended, that would be it, the world would never be the same, and turning that last page made me almost bereft. After that, I decided that I had to track down something else by Zusak, it’s taken me a while, but finally, I managed to find something, and dear God, I am so glad that I did.

This book has the single best opening chapter of any book I have ever read ever. It’s perfect, I laughed so hard at several points in that opening chapter that I genuinely though I was going to pee myself. From there on, we were on a roller coaster that just kept going up. This book was almost poetic in places, with such beautiful prose I forgot sometimes that this was a novel and not a poem. Markus Zusak has a gift.

It’s very difficult to review this book, it’s the sort of book that has a much subtler story going on beneath the surface, which is hard to explain simply. But, you know, my six week challenge is to review everything that I read, so I will give it a go.
I am the messenger is a journey to betterment, finding yourself and being a good person, it’s almost Fight Club, but without the rules. The ending took me a while to get my head around, but once I did, I bow down to you Mr Zusak, you sir are a literary genius.
And look at that, a book I can give the Nick Fury Seal of Approval to. Wonderful.

photo

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

6 thoughts on “I am the messenger

  1. Yes. Yes, yes, yes to everything. This is my favourite book in the whole entire world and I’m so glad you liked it as well because I don’t think I could accept an alternative viewpoint! Never mind the best opening chapter, it has the best opening line ever. I love the imagery all the way through and how each of the characters are unique and real and how wonderful Ed is as a person and everything.

    Also ‘a journey to betterment’ is a wonderful phrase.

    • The opening line was genius! I had been trying to get hold of this book forever, but I didn’t really know what it was about until I started reading it, but that opening chapter was so good! The whole thing was incredible, I can see why it’s your favourite, it might be one of mine now!

      • I found it in a bargain bin and although I’d never heard of it I’d read The Book Thief so I thought I’d see what it was like. It doesn’t seem to be very well known which is such a shame.

  2. I totally agree! I am the Messenger (or just The Messenger as its called in Australia) is one of my favourite books, and along with the Book Thief makes Markus Zusak one of my favourite authors. This book probably had an effect on me unlike any other. When I wasn’t reading it the world around me seemed different somehow and I was half expecting to find a playing card in my letterbox every time I checked it. Your post has inspired me to revisit it sometime πŸ™‚

    • Thank you!
      I loved it! I kind of feel a little bereft since I finished it, I’ve got a new book sat on my bedside table but I haven’t the heart to start it yet because it would be like I am the Messenger is really over!

  3. Pingback: End of the year book survey – The Perks of Being a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

