The great bookish bake off – Apple Pie

bookishbakeoff

The cakes I bake and the books I read while baking them.

20131130-232858.jpg

 

I made my first ever pie and it actually tasted good! I’m so excited!

 

So, when I was a kid, my nan used to make home made apple pie all the time and having dinner at her house was always amazing because she was seriously good at making apple pie. Now that she’s a bit older, she prefers to buy them rather than make them from scratch. This year I want to make my own mince pies, so I thought it might be a good idea to get some practise in with making pastry, so I made a pie!

Things you will need:
255g plain flour
140g marge
3 large bramley apples
6 tbs cold water
sugar
cinnamon
raisins.

A book of your choice, I was finishing Keeping you a secret by Julie Ann Peters.

So, here we go, first things first, grease a pie dish or tin of some description, I don’t have a pie dish, so I used a circular baking tin.
Then, I weighed out my flour and my butter, cutting the marge into squares, this is where you get to get a bit dirty. Get your hands in there and rub the two together until you get yellowy bread crumbs. Essentially, this bit is like making crumble. Once you have bread crumbs, pour in your 6 tbspoons of water, folding in with a knife and using your hands to firm and shape into a dough of sorts. Once you have a big ball of evenly coloured doughy stuff you should probably give yourself a little pat on the back, or maybe wait until a bit later if you’re worried about getting your clothes dirty, because you have made pastry! Yay!
Divide this big ball of pastry in two and on a floured surface, roll out one, once you’re happy and it’s not too thin, carefully lift this up and layer it over your tin/dish.
Once that’s in, you can get started on your filling, core and peel the apples, I cut mine into big chunks, but whatever you preference is fine. Chuck these on top of you pastry base, sprinkle in some sugar, cinnamon and add whatever other fruits you want to stick in. Set that aside and roll out your remaining bit of pastry. Put this on the top and using your fingers, carefully press the edges together and then using a knife, trim around the edges so that it’s a little more tidy.
Lightly prick the top to give it a bit of air, if you’re more arty than I, you can use some of your left over pastry to do some decoration on the top and then put it in the oven on 180 degrees for 30-40 minutes which should give you loads of time to do some reading.
Like I said, Keeping you a secret was keeping me entertained whilst the kitchen filled with the smell of cooking apple pie, which is a wonderful smell if you’ve never experienced it before.
The book is… Ok I guess. I’m not getting on with the narration very well, with all the stuff that lead character Holland has going on I thought that there would be a bit more of a sense of urgency and oppression within the writing but so far, not.  Also, I’m not entirely sure that I like how quickly these girls have decided that they’re crazy in love with each other. But oh well.

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

One thought on “The great bookish bake off – Apple Pie

  1. Pingback: Great Bookish Bakeoff – Apple and Blackberry Pie | The Perks of Being a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

