Great Bookish Bake off – 3D Dinosaur biscuits

bookishbakeoff

 

The cakes I make and the books I read while baking them. 

20140109-153614.jpg

I had some holiday to use up in January, so I decided that it was about time that I tried out the 3d dino cookie cutters that I was given for Christmas. I used a basic cookie recipe for this, but getting the pieces together afterwards took quite a bit of time, I didn’t realise that some of them need to double up!

Things you will need:
Scales
Wooden spoon
300g plain flour
240g butter
140g sugar
1 egg yolk
bowls to stir it all in
The book of your choice.

Firstly, measure out your ingredients and put them into a bowl, you’re going to have to do a bit of mixing, so make sure you’ve got a strong arm! Once it starts getting stiff and dough like, flour out a surface and roll out the dough.
Using the dino cutters, cut out each individual piece and put them on a foiled baking tray. Any extra bits of dough you can shape as you like and add them to the baking tray. Then, put the shapes in the oven on 140 for 15 – 20 minutes.

That should give you a little bit of time to do some reading. I was in the middle of reading the Key to the Golden Firebird by Maureen Johnson which I’m actually really enjoying. I have a soft spot for Maureen’s amusing writing style and although there isn’t anything groundbreaking about the story, I’m getting a little addicted to it!
Once the biscuits (or cookies, depending on your country of origin) are cooked and cool, you can start trying to slot them together. This bit was much more difficult than the actual making of the biscuits! I didn’t really realise how the pieces slotted together, but eventually I figured it out! They look cool and they taste amazing!

The tagline on the cutters was: eat them until they’re extinct. I did just that!

PhotobucketPhotobucketPhotobucket

6 thoughts on “Great Bookish Bake off – 3D Dinosaur biscuits

  1. Pingback: Great Bookish Bakeoff – Two year old cookies – The Perks of Being a Bookworm

  2. Pingback: The Great Bookish Bake-off: Lactose Free Carrot Loaf Cake | The Perks of Being a Bookworm

Leave a Reply

